We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some updates”
Review of Dunes Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs some updates”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here three nights on a family vacation and this hotel is fair. The back door over looking the pool was rusty and stuck and was very hard to open. It is across the street from the ocean and ane pool water was so cloudy that I would not let my son swim in it. Will no be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nursecrystal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
I'm sorry to hear about this. We take pride in maintaining a clean, welcoming hotel for our guests, so I'm sorry that you were disappointed. I will make sure that the back door is repaired, as it should not have been so difficult to open. The pool is cleaned regularly, so it's unfortunate that you found it cloudy. When did you stay with us? Any feedback you can provide will help make us better for you.

Thank you,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    165
    101
    41
    49
See reviews for
201
170
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

This room had large rooms, friendly staff, nice tile floors, and a convienently located pool. However, there was mildew in the bathroom, the bathroom fixtures were falling off the wall, the tile floors had dust and dirt caked in the corners and on the base boards, i saw a few roaches, its a long walk to the beach across a 4 lane road and pass 2 other motels, for the price i thought it should have been cleaner and closer to the beach, the kitchenette lacked a coffee maker, cooking and eating supplies, and a refrigerator(we had a mini fridge that barely worked).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCarolinagirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
While I'm glad that you were impressed with our staff and the size of your room, it is unfortunate that the rest of your stay was disappointing. The conditions that you described do not meet our standards, and I apologize. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I will have our maintenance and cleaning crew inspect your room, and I will definitely take your feedback into consideration as well. There is always room for improvement, and we strive to do better. Thank you again. We hope you'll give us another try next time you're in Tybee.

Best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The room was nice, tile floors, soft towels, beds were comfy. However some photos I saw online showed photos of the beach. This hotel is not on the beach....the beach is across the street behind another hotel. It's a short walk to the beach, but no beach views for your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Joan,

I'm sorry that you were confused about our location. We should have been more clear about that, and I apologize for the miscommunication. However, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you'll come back and give us another try!

Regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I Have Checked Around On Tybee Island And Priced Out Other Hotels And Motels On The Island And They Can Get Very Expensive, Especially The Ocean Beach Plaza Right Across From Dunes Inn & Suites. Every Year I Make A Trip With My Family To Tybee Island Since Its One Of The Only Beach Hot Spots In Georgia And I Must Say This Hotel Has Been The One I Will Continue To Book With And Stay In, Always Friendly Staff At The Front, Wonderful Rooms That Are Spacious With Kitchens In Them And Its Right Across The Road From The Beach & Stingrays Which Has The Best Seafood On The Island Right Down The Block! I Couldn't Be More Pleased With The Way This Hotel Is Ran, Im Very Satisfied Every Time I Stay Here And I Definatly Would Recommened This Hotel To Family And Friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy30066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm glad you find our staff accommodating and friendly and enjoy staying with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We would love to welcome you back again any time!

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Thank you so much for your hospitality. We very much enjoyed our stay with you.There was a personal touch put into the customer service. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ok B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
So glad to hear from you! We truly appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the personal touches we include. Thank you for reviewing Dune Inn & Suites; we would love to welcome you back again any time.

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I decided to get away for a three day weekend. On our last visit to Tybee we stayed across the street at the Ocean Plaza and were not impressed so we decided to try the Dunes Inn and Suites this time. Our room at the Dunes Inn and Suites was clean, had a fridge and microwave and large bathroom. Yes, our comforted on the bed did have a small hole in it, but it was no big deal. The bed was comfortable & the room was quiet (Tybee Island was celebrating with it's St. Patrick's parade) the weekend we were there. We were able to watch the parade sitting at our front door. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We will stay at the Dunes Inn and Suites on our next visit to Tybee Island. StingRay's restaurant still has the best seafood on the island (and great cocktails). The Sugar Shack is a good place for breakfast (if you want something other than the continental offered by the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzydispatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thanks so much for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room clean and comfortable. We would love to welcome you back again whenever you're on Tybee.

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I found this motel to be the dirtiest motel/hotel we have ever stayed in. I was bitten by a large black spider that apparently lived under the bed. We stayed there for the kitchenette but would have been better off in another place with a microwave. The bedspread was filthy as were the face cloths. We will never stay there again when we visit Tybee and have advised our friends and family to avoid this dump as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trudy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Trudy,

I'm sincerely sorry if you found any aspect of your stay with us. Your comment about the spider is very troubling and I assure you I will be looking into it. If you could contact the hotel and tell us your room number, we would love to take care of that problem. I also wanted to let you know that we will be renovating the hotel in the coming months, which should address many of your concerns. I do hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you.

Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tybee Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.1 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn
Atlantis Inn
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Property: Dunes Inn & Suites
Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing