We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place where the locals go :)”
Review of Huc-A-Poos

Huc-A-Poos
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Rock Spring, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Place where the locals go :)”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed our time at Huc-A-Poos. The pizza was awesome-try the dill pickles on the pizza! The drinks were good and the bartenders a hoot! We had a great time! Would recommend this place only if you are planning on some local fun!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    238
    69
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's your average beach dive bar”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after a day on the beach at Tybee. It wasn't easy to find. We walked up and looked like a movie set for Gilligans Island.
We sat outside because it was darker than a cave inside.
Must say their pizza was good. I had the worst margarita of my life

This is a locals hangout place. Recommend you get pizza to go here. Btw the picture on the Trip Advisor page is deceiving. This is a bar!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Crazy little WONDERFUL place for locals and visitors alike”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Huc-A-Poos is a great spot on Tybee Island for wonderful pizza, nacho's and more. Best of all, it's extremely well priced for the area. Any toppings on your pizza and it's just $15.00 bucks. Pizza's are excellent and well worth the $15.00 bucks, FOR SURE. They also have HUGE Nachos. It is a blended BAR/FAMILY atmosphere. I know, right? Weird, but certainly eclectic, out of the ordinary and FUN. They have indoor and outdoor seating (open air indoor and no air, just big fans. LOL) The Pizza is definitely better if you eat it fresh right then. The crust gets a little hard when you get it to go. But when you eat in, it's PERFECT !!! They have some fun games around, both homemade & electronic. This is NOT a fancy place! Come as you are, in whatever, however.....for real. Very relaxed and fun. Just go in and squat a spot. LOL I highly recommend that EVERYONE experience the infamous "Huc-A-Poos" at least once. But I am sure that once you try it, you will be back again and again. ~ Jeffrey

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect after a day at the beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a day at the beach, a few friends and I stopped by to grab an early dinner. An eclectic place with seating available both indoors and out on their deck. While it was a bit warm out, we grabbed a table outside. Between the large fan and the table umbrella we didn't have any issues. The pizza is exceptional and generously portioned, especially for the price. A slice is sufficient for a single person, even if you are particularly hungry. They have some great speciality pizzas and the toppings were really fresh tasting. Their white pizza was a tad dry but that is to be expected with most white pizzas. Decent selection of cold beer to go with your meal and additional options if your looking for something other than pizza. Staff was fun and low key but on top of things. The perfect way to end a beach day, or frankly any casual day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Often eat here for lunch, casual, fun, come as you are kind of place, sit out on the deck, play cornhole, total holiday atmosphere, dogs are welcome. Great pizza and beer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank starserendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huc-A-Poos also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Huc-A-Poos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing