We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Tybee Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
February Fossil Hunt

After many weekends of research along the Florida coast and the eastern seaboard, I decided the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
chestatee
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Definitely a MUST DO

This private day trip is much more than just getting out on the water. Our very professional guide... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 1 week ago
iamcgt
,
Fort Myers, Florida
Read all 646 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tybee Island
from $49.00
More Info
from $179.49
More Info
from $97.44
More Info
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveler rating
629
10
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
629
10
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain rene fossil hunting sand dollars shark teeth bald eagles bacon saw dolphins tidal creeks secluded beach private charter highlight of our trip salt marsh boat tour eco system great trip great shells wealth of knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 646 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2020

This is an awesome tour highly recommend. The price is well worth it. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Freedom33394409783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

My husband and I gifted the fossil hunting trip to our children and it was the best decision. Aubry our guide and Captain Mark were so attentive and kind. It was great to have fossil expert walking with us to explain what to look for and how to find the fossils! We highly recommend Sundial for water excursion around Savannah's waterways!

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kaybigbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore14070338241, Owner at Sundial Charters - Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very biased about Aubrey since he is our son, but we are glad you enjoyed him too. We hope to see you again. It is a great bonding family activity. We are all about families in nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We started off our decade with an amazing boat trip with Rene and Chip. We were in Savannah for the week of New Years. It's not unusual for us to go on short boat trips while we are on vacation as we have been on a racing yacht in Rhode Island, a fishing boat in Montana, and a whale watching cruise in Nova Scotia. Given that we were in the middle of winter, I wasn't sure if a boat trip was going to be in the mix. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Sundial Charters was going full tilt and even had a tour available on New Years Day. The various tours available are carefully scheduled around the tides and other environmental factors. The tour that was available on New Years Day was Little Tybee Unplugged. The trip started off with us navigating through the salt marshes to view the wildlife. Georgia is far enough south that there's still plenty of birds to see in the middle of winter. The area hosts birds that you do not see inland. Fortunately, Rene is an extremely knowledgeable naturalist, and her explanations enabled us to fully appreciate the area. We saw storks, egrets, and blue herons. On our way to the beach of Little Tybee, we saw a couple of dolphins. The beach of Little Tybee was truly a unique experience. I have never been on such a secluded and pristine beach. This was nature at its best. Rene continued to share her wealth of knowledge with us by identifying our various findings on the beach. We also really appreciated the fact that Rene did not talk down my 12 year old nephew and was able to keep him very engaged. Our trip to Little Tybee was by far the highlight of our entire vacation in Savannah. Should we return back to the area, we definitely would go on another tour with Sundial Charters.

That brings me to why I would stick with Sundial Charters even when there are much cheaper tours on the water available. The other tours are more along the lines of sightseeing tours and geared for the masses. Sundial Charters is all about your own experience. It's only your group on the boat, so if you prefer to spend more time in one place than the other, it can be done. The tour felt much more like spending a day with a naturalist rather than a tour guide spouting out a canned talk track.

Tips and hints:
1. Clothing - you will be riding on an open boat. Wind chill is very much a factor. Dressing in layers is a good idea especially since you may warm up a bit while walking on the beach. If you go in cold weather, I highly recommend wearing waterproof boots. Little Tybee is completely undeveloped so that means no docks. Your feet may get wet while you are getting on and off the boat. We actually packed a change of shoes and socks just in case we did get our feet wet. We ended up not needing them, but it was still good to have on hand.
2. If the meeting place is at Fisherman's Walk, there is a bathroom at the pier. Use the bathroom before the tour because there is no bathroom on the boat.
3. Bring a bag with you when you get off the boat at Little Tybee to collect shells. We were so awestruck by the site of the pristine beach that we totally forgot to bring along the bag that we had with us.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Romans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We had a great trip with Captain Bennett Bacon. He gave us informative background and detail on the marsh, river, and fossils and made it all fun. He also gave the kids special attention and help finding treasure. We look forward to going again

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank barbarapresleydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

xmas day was the only sunny day during our recent trip to Savannah. Sundial Charters were kind enough to suggest a tour on that day. Bennett was phenomenal. His enthusiasm for the biodiversity and wilderness of the Georgia salt marshes was contagious; His knowledge and the passion with which helped us understand how the geography, the economy and the ecology of the Tybee salt marshes come together had the kids and us completely enthralled!

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Shomik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explore14070338241, Owner at Sundial Charters - Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you for the kind words. We really appreciate your taking the time to write in. It is such a beautiful part of the world and we are happy you caught a sunny day with Sundial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews