We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expand your trip by getting out on the water!”

Sundial Charters - Tours
Ranked #2 of 29 Tours in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sundial Charters is a Nature and Fishing Tour company, established in 1996,on the Georgia coast with the best native, back country,and wilderness guides around. We make recommendations for your best adventure, based on your schedule, the tides, predicted weather, and local knowledge, during your stay. Our most popular trip is the Little Tybee 'Unplugged' during which you explore the 6500 acre natural heritage preserve, lying directly to the South of Tybee Island. We offer dolphin watching, crabbing, cast netting, fossil hunting, birding, light tackle fishing, hiking the barrier islands, and salt marsh ecology. We run trips daily and year round. Call us today, and let us plan your trip.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Expand your trip by getting out on the water!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

These folks were great and picked us up at the appointed time. Their local knowledge of Little Tybee and the birds and wildlife made this soooo much more than just a boat ride. It was great to have Fiddler the dog along for our trip as well. It was fantastic to compare the vast natural beauty with being so close to Downtown Savannah and all the hustle & bustle there. Well worth the trip! Our charter was one of the highlights of our entire southern excursion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gopher-Vol_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    7
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sundial Charters excursion was like being taken out on a a boat with old friends who know everything about the area!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was a magical day from the dolphins just as we left the dock; sighting the aggressive Osprey 'going at' the Bald Eagle; our adorable dog guide, Fiddler, showing off for us digging up some crabs; Little Tybee's beautiful treasures from the sea everywhere along the shore; all the species of birds unveiled to us in our surroundings; the dramatic tides and the beautiful sunset to top it off as we came in from the excursion! All of these things paired with our knowledgable guides, Rene & ‘Bennita', as well as great steering by Captain ‘Bennita’ ~ it was a perfect way to spend the last day of our vacation to Tybee Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank naynaymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking nature experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Captain Renee guided us on a fantastic journey into the wilderness of Little Tybee Island. We did things, saw things, and found things that no longer exist on the populated islands. Discover the original Georgia coast, where bald eagles nest, dolphins frolic, crabs scuttle, and sand dollars do....well, whatever it is they do. Navigate the serpentine channels of the marsh and explore lushly forested, uninhabited islands that nearly reek of forgotten pirate treasure. Bring your bug spray and sun block, and set course for an unforgettable adventure with Renee and her indomitable pooch "Fiddler."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAvidAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, Owner at Sundial Charters - Tours, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip with Sundial. It is always such a pleasure when you know that someone totally gets how fabulous the Georgia coast is and wants to share it with their family and friends. I look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Rene, Dave and Fiddler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We had so much fun with Captain Renee on our "Little Tybee Unplugged" adventure. We saw dolphins up close & personal plus we spotted the biggest jellyfish Renee had ever seen. Catching a glimpse of the resident bald eagle was icing on the cake! It was the best three hours of our recent trip to Tybee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Art4marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best and Most Unique Activity of our Vacation with Many Little Kids”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went to Tybee with a LOT of little kids and I am not exaggerating (ages 7, 5, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1) and 5 of them are mine so I will give an honest assessment here. We had a three-hour morning Little Tybee trip with Capt. Rene and Dave that was amazing!!! We had never chartered a boat before and loved the unique and personal experience. Capt. Rene went out of her way to explain everything about anything we wanted to know about and about many things that we never even would have thought about -- she is amazing and very professional!! We saw dolphins not long after taking off, went through the awesome marshes, saw all kinds of wildlife up close, and best of all, got to spend quite an amazing time at an amazing beach that was basically private and full of awesome whole sand dollars, all types of amazing shells you just do not see at the regular beach, and lots of crabs and other sea life. The kids all loved Fiddler (Rene's dog) and Fiddler's obsession with crabs -- hee! And in case anyone was wondering, the kids, even though very young, loved the trip!!! Highly recommend this for adults and kids of all ages -- this will be the highlight of your vacation!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundial Charters - Tours also viewed

 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundial Charters - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing