We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very neat and unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tybee Island Lighthouse was built in 1773 and is the oldest Lighthouse in Georgia. An entry ticket allows you to see the Lighthouse, the Head Keepers Cottage, the 2nd Assistant Keepers Cottage, the Summer Kitchen and the Tybee Island Museum across the street. The Lighthouse is CLOSED TUESDAYS, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, St. Patrick's Day (or the day of the Savannah St. Patrick's Day parade).
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very neat and unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our family loved this.The view from the lighthouse was gorgeous! It has great views of the island. I highly recommend making the climb to the top- it's worth the view! However, if you are claustrophobic or afraid of heights, don't climb to the top. The stairs are a little scary to climb up on. Luckily, it does have some platforms. They have some buildings with interesting artifacts, history, signs, and videos. Definitely a must-see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iLoveAdventure4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    566
    132
    17
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Absolute Must See!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a great attraction. Only 1/2 hour from Savannah this lighthouse and museum offer some spectacular views and some lessons on Georgia history. The lighthouse and some buildings have been restored to their late 1930s appearance. There is a fine 15 minute video continuously playing in one of the buildings. The walk to the top of the lighthouse isn't too bad since there are platforms every 24 steps--those come in handy. The views, and the breeze, at the top were great and worth the climb. After touring the lighthouse area, a walk across the street to the museum allows you to explore the general history of the area from the revolutionary war to the present. This really is a great attraction

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rnmteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We took our boys, 7 and 3. Desperately needed to use the restroom by the time we got there. Lighthouse was huge and beautiful. Unfortunately, it was going to cost our family of four almost $40 to go inside the gate (past the gifthouse) to the small museum, lighthouse, and restrooms! We passed and used the potty at the park nearby. If you like climbing stairs for a spectacular view, then it's for you! It was just too pricey and I didn't want to carry a thirty pound kid to the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jesspete81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The lighthouse is very well preserved! Truly a must see on Tybee Island. The view from the top is spectacular!

Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restoration of a lighthouse and its grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A lot of steps. Bring comfortable shoes and water. Maybe to much for small children but the view is out of this world at the top of the lighthouse. I love the gift shop and there is so much history to absorb while visiting including the museum across the street. I believe the lighthouse is closed on Tues. A must see while on Tybee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing