We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“museum”

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
More Info
$349.00*
and up
Savannah Sunset Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tybee Island Lighthouse was built in 1773 and is the oldest Lighthouse in Georgia. An entry ticket allows you to see the Lighthouse, the Head Keepers Cottage, the 2nd Assistant Keepers Cottage, the Summer Kitchen and the Tybee Island Museum across the street. The Lighthouse is CLOSED TUESDAYS, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, St. Patrick's Day (or the day of the Savannah St. Patrick's Day parade).
Jamestown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“museum”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very nice and had several cute souvenirs. Not really a big selection but it was very small. Love the pictures of the lighthouse. Had several cute postcards.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alice55124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,142
    625
    146
    19
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Climb the lighthouse”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great view from the top. Great look at the keeper and family's life in the past. Well informed docents. Worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“What a gem of a find!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I like visiting lighthouses. With that being said, I really liked this one. It's interesting how private homes have sprung up around it, and how the fort across the street was part of the package. It was well worth the side trip to come see.

The way the tickets are handled is a little weird, or was when we were there. First, we went into the gift shop, which is next to the light house. We bought our tickets (in the form of wrist bands), then walked across and down the street to Fort Screven (or part of it). The wrist bands got us in, and the entire interior of this part of the fort was a well done museum. They had an A/V room with a video playing on loop. We climbed upstairs and on to the roof of the fort, which at one time held 12" main guns, protecting the Savannah River from shipping. The museum had information about Girl Scouts, the lighthouse, the fort, and Tybee Island itself, including the amusement park that used to be there, the beaches, and the dance hall. It was very cool.

We walked back across the street, back through the gift shop, and onto the grounds of the Light Station proper. It has several buildings, all refurbished (plus a new-ish restroom building) from their original use (Keeper, Assistant Keeper, Fuel Storage, etc). We decided to skip them and go straight to the lighthouse.

It was pretty cool and very windy, and a person at the foot of the lighthouse would answer questions. My only one was "how many steps?". The answer: 178. it turns out there is a spiral staircase leading up, with a "landing" every 25 steps. On each of these, there is a window looking out. It was good for me, who is not in great shape, to walk up 25 steps, then take a small break, and look out the window. Then repeat. 7 times. it was worth it, though. The lens and light are easy to see, and you can walk out on the catwalk the surrounds the top of the lighthouse.

Beautiful views - we were up there just before dusk - "Golden Hour", with the sun glittering off the Savannah River. Ships were heading up river, and people were playing in the surf. It was awesome!

The trip down was easier, and faster. We shopped in the gift shop, and headed back the way we came. We really enjoyed it, even my teenager liked it! I really recommend, if you're anywhere near Savannah.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tfuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tybee Lighthouse A Wonderful Experiance”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We enjoyed the Lighthouse on our last visit. It was awsome. My wife was exhausted before we got to the top. An amazing view. Great museum. Had flashbacks when I saw the living quarters. Old photos looked a lot like family. It is a must see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty to look at”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not much to say here. Didn't feel like paying the required $9.00 Fee per person. but it was nice to walk around, take some pictures and see the beach area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrismarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing