We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tybee Island Lighthouse was built in 1773 and is the oldest Lighthouse in Georgia. An entry ticket allows you to see the Lighthouse, the Head Keepers Cottage, the 2nd Assistant Keepers Cottage, the Summer Kitchen and the Tybee Island Museum across the street. The Lighthouse is CLOSED TUESDAYS, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, St. Patrick's Day (or the day of the Savannah St. Patrick's Day parade).
Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Came here on our visit to Savannah and couldn't miss this awesome site that has some great history. 178 steps later we were at the top of the Lighthouse. What a beautiful view! After that we went to the adjacent museum, which was also very interesting. Definitely worth coming here on your visit to Tybee Island.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrByte_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    566
    132
    17
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Very well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The museum, batteries and homes were beautifully restored and provided tons of information for us history buffs. Lighthouse is beautiful and the views were lovely. Very friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Sarahbellum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I drove over to Tybee from Savannah and chose to make a stop at the Tybee Island Lighthouse and Museum. If you can make it up the 150+ stairs, the top provides for beautiful views of this little island. They have renovated the house on property to provide a glimpse of what the lighthouse keeper's home would look like. The museum across the street provides some interesting details and artifacts from the history of Savannah's beach. During our visit the price was $9 to visit, and there is free parking at the lighthouse, which is nice considering most all parking on Tybee is not. A must see in Tybee!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vols35978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to see how the light keepers and their families lived”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I went to Tybee Island and decided to go to the lighthouse and outlying properties on the grounds. In addition to the 156 (or something like that) walk to the top of the lighthouse which is not for the faint of heart there are also some very cool buildings on the property. You can see the houses built for the lighthouse keepers and their families. We thought that it was very interesting and worth the trip to check out. The price for entry we also thought were reasonable considering all of the buildings that you could see and go ito.n

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank msadek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice museum, worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

As part of the Tybee Light Station complex, the museum is a worthwhile element to visit and see some of the old Tybee history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing