We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
More Info
$349.00*
and up
Savannah Sunset Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tybee Island Lighthouse was built in 1773 and is the oldest Lighthouse in Georgia. An entry ticket allows you to see the Lighthouse, the Head Keepers Cottage, the 2nd Assistant Keepers Cottage, the Summer Kitchen and the Tybee Island Museum across the street. The Lighthouse is CLOSED TUESDAYS, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, St. Patrick's Day (or the day of the Savannah St. Patrick's Day parade).
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had spent my entire 24 years wanting to go to the top of a lighthouse and I got to do it for the first time at Tybee Light. Barely squeaked in before a thunderstorm started and was so happy. Seeing the light up close was incredible and exploring the light keeper's house was so much fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    625
    146
    19
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White House, TN
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Light House checklist”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After visiting Outer Banks many years ago, we have visited every light house we can when we get the opportunity. Seeing there was a light house in Tybee Island, we had to add it to our list of visits. Entry was $9.00 for adults, $7.00 for kids. About average for price of light house visits. 178 steps is a good challenge for most older fathers. The daughters had no problem. Those with smaller kids may want to consider the steps are adult spaced, so be sure and keep them hands on the rail on the way up. The top deck has rails with no mesh, and tilts slightly outward to shed water, so smaller children need to be closely watched. There are several landings where you can catch your breath. They only allow six (6) in the light house at one time, so there often is a wait to get in. So keep in mind to take a restroom break before you get in line. Restrooms are at the back of the property directly behind the gift/entry building which was a garage during the lighthouse active days. While we were there, a school group was visiting, but luckily we got in front of them. View was very rewarding. at the base is an old WWi-WWII fortress, which unfortunately was mostly private, and posted no tresspassing. The museum in the fortress was closed the day of our visit, so somewhat disappointing. The staff at the museum were very friendly and helpful. Several of the buildings are open, some with exhibits. We did not watch the video, trying to get ahead of the school group, but several seemed to enjoy the video. Even at a slow pace it will not take long to tour the grounds. As the staff point out, park at the museum. If you park at the larger lot next to the fortress, the city lot, you must pay. The city is VERY active ticketing non-payers. We walked over and enjoyed the beach. Very nice beach, easy entry for handicapped or small children. Nice touch they have swings in the doors to sit and enjoy the view. A restaurant, North Beach bar & grill next to the fortress was rated fairly high, but chose to eat on the way out at Coco's instead. Would love to go back when the fortress museum is open, for the one cost of lighthouse entry and museum entry I think it is a good buy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shawclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our Girl Scout troop to this lighthouse on a Saturday afternoon. Our guide, Mr. Gus was great! He answered all of our questions and was very knowlegeable about the lighthouse. We also watched a video of the lighthouse history and viewed the old keeper's residence. The hike to the top was sooo worth it. The view is incredible.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bethpeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“So much history and Beautiful Views”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were going to send our child up the lighthouse alone to take pictures. However, the lady at the gift shop told us about the history and the lighthouse keeper's home on property. She was a fountain of interesting information. We all got tickets and climbed the steps, 378 in all, with a resting area every 25 steps. It was a clear day, we could see Savannah, South Carolina coast, and the vast blue/green ocean. Definitely walk through the lighthouse keeper's house. The furnishing was beautiful and fascinating: a funny looking huge telephone, a portable bookcase, the girls' collection of dolls, to name a few. Gift shop was nice. Museum was under renovation. TIPS: Free parking available during your visit of the lighthouse. The north beach, near the lighthouse, is different from the sandy beach near Breakfast Club. Check it out if you have time. Island parking fee required.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank scatterjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful lighthouse and wonderful view after climbing all the stairs...well worth it! It was nice to learn about the history and tour the different museums. A nice break to being on the beach all day

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing