We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine lighthouse and grounds.”

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tybee Island Lighthouse was built in 1773 and is the oldest Lighthouse in Georgia. An entry ticket allows you to see the Lighthouse, the Head Keepers Cottage, the 2nd Assistant Keepers Cottage, the Summer Kitchen and the Tybee Island Museum across the street. The Lighthouse is CLOSED TUESDAYS, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, New Year's Day, St. Patrick's Day (or the day of the Savannah St. Patrick's Day parade).
Berne, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“fine lighthouse and grounds.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

lots of out buildings. plenty of steps to the top. Leave your backpack in the ticket office. Do not understand why. It was empty and nothing to steal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,062
    587
    140
    18
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was a little tired after the jaunt up and than down the 178 spiraling steps of this fascinating lighthouse. For the $9.00 entry fee ($7.00 for military), you get your money worth on this excursion + free parking next to the beach! Please plan to spend at least an hour or more at this site. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND several things, 1) you might want to stroll through Fort Screvins and the other buildings (included in ticket price) first before taking the trip up to the top of the lighthouse. 2) If your a cat lover, there are two cats that make their home here, donate some flea treatment for them and maybe bring a treat along for them. 3) wear comfortable shoes. 4) If you have a fear of heights, you MAY NOT WANT to walk through the door at the top of the lighthouse that leads out onto the platform at the top of the lighthouse or plan b, don't go to the top of the lighthouse.
5) don't leave your camera in the car.

I will definitely return.

Check it out online for more information http://www.tybeelighthouse.org/

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tybee Lighthouse”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This isn't a place I would typically visit, but I am oh so glad I did. It was a great experience. I went with my 9-year old daughter and she loved it! It was a long 178 step climb to the top but the views were worth it. The keepers' homes are restored beautifully, they have a very informative 15 minute video that I recommend viewing before you do anything else there, and the people who work there are SO friendly!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaLoveItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great lighthouse!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on a beautiful weekend while visiting Savannah and was surprised to see that you can climb to the top of the lighthouse. Price includes tour of all the buildings and fort across the street. This is definately not for those who are afraid of heights, it is very high and windy up there! Other reviewers are definately correct about the parking, if you park across the street, make sure to pay. I think if you park at the museum right by the lighthouse, you don't have to pay for parking, but be sure to check first. Very worthwhile visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank TheAntiTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and i just spent the weekend in Savannah, GA. and because we have been there before we decided to check out Tybee island for a few hours. Tybee is only about a 20 minute drive from Savannah and it has one of the most beautiful and well taken care of light houses that I have ever seen. You can climb up to the top and get a great view of the ships going into the channel and of Tybee. Besides the Light house you can explore the keepers house and other buildings. There is a fort with a museum inside and a restraunt (seperate from this attraction) right on the beach with really good food and water bowls for all of the dogs who come to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KRL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing