We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend!”
Review of Lighthouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at The Lighthouse Inn. Susie and Stuart were great and really made you feel welcome. It was cozy and comfortable. It was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine or coffee on the front porch in the rocking chairs. Stuart was a great cook and the breakfasts were wonderful! It's in a great location-near to the beach but very quiet too! A great neighborhood to ride bikes! it also has free parking! The Inn was super clean and the bedding was plush! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliefm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at The Lighthouse Inn. I have a very high expectation of room cleanliness and I have to say this is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. Where it is located is great. It's about a block from the Lighthouse and the Beach. Susie and Stewart are awesome. So friendly and welcoming. Stewart is the best cook. My fiance and I got engaged there we will never forget it. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We had all three rooms and I loved them all.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ktmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The free parking was great as we rented bicycles from Tim's Beach Gear and explored the island. The Blue room we stayed in had a great view and the hosts made us both feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cainmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We found the hosts to be warm and friendly. All rooms are on the second floor. Our room was very clean and had a flat screen TV. Bottled water was included in the room "fridge". The rooms are on the smaller side. On site parking is available which is a plus as Tybee Island will charge one to park just about anywhere ($1.50 per hour, 8:00 am to 8:00 pm, 7 days a week). The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood within a short walking distance to the lighthouse (a worthwhile visit), a nearby fort museum and the beach. For those who enjoy walking, one can safely enjoy walking in the neighborhood and, if one looks closely, buildings once used by the military post can be seen.
Bottom line a good place to stay. The room rates are on the pricey side, but reflect prices typical for the Tybee Island area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VikingAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

What a pleasurable 2 nights we spent at The Lighthouse Inn on Tybee Island, April 3-5.

We arrived in the evening and Susie let us in, let us know that breakfast would be at 8:30am, and showed us our room. She asked that we make sure we kept the front door locked at all times and come and go as we wished. Susie and Stuart live on-site in the back of the house on the first floor, and all three guest rooms are upstairs, each with a private bath. We very much had the feeling that we were guests in the home of a very kind aunt & uncle who had their own thing going on and gave us our privacy.

We were in the blue bedroom, which had a nice homey feel, an extremely comfortable bed and a nice view out through the trees. You could JUST see the lighthouse out the window and through the trees. The upstairs felt a bit warm and stuffy to us upon arrival and so, being that springtime transitional weather before mosquito season (just), we opened two windows for a lovely cross-breeze all night. Since the neighborhood is nice and quiet, we weren't disturbed by noises at all. The house is back in a neighborhood just around the corner from the lighthouse and beach access. This made for a "best of both worlds" setting, as far as we were concerned.

Susie and Stuart served a very nice homestyle breakfast for six people -- they'd had a full house that night. Eggs, bacon, fruit and biscuits made for a very hearty breakfast. By the next morning when we were the only guests left in the house, they had completely adjusted to our taste and had ice water and hot tea for us (not the juice and coffee most people drink at breakfast). It was so nice of them to have noticed our preferences.

We had a very nice stay at The Lighthouse Inn, and found Susie and Stuart to be lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsb897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I spent Valentine's Day weekend with Suzie and Stuart at the Lighthouse Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. I thought is was a nice touch to leave Valentine's chocolate at the bed side upon our arrival. Breakfast was the usual B&B fair but it was tasty. The Innkeepers was very pleasant and quick to offer places to eat and directions on getting around. The Inn is on the very quiet end of the island but a short few minute drive to the other end where restaurants are. The quiet was wonderful! The beach was a brief two minute walk down the block past the island's lighthouse. We really enjoyed our time at the Lighthouse Inn and would definitely recommend staying to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabs789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast and decided to try one on our stay on Tybee Island. We hit the mark the first time out!!! The rooms were clean and comfortable. Very quiet and had a homey feel to it. Stuart and Suzie are great hosts and Stuart is a great cook. You never left hungry :) Would highly recommend The Lighthouse Inn and will definately stay on our next trip to Tybee Island.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tybee Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
329 reviews
1.9 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 16 Meddin Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9733
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range: $149 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip away to Lighthhouse Inn, a small bed and breakfast cottage amid the quiet of north beach on Tybee Island, Georgia. Park free in private off-street parking in our residential neighborhood and stroll 3-minutes to the Tybee Lighthouse, Colonial Coast Birding Trail, & North Beach Grill (a favorite of Ben Affleck when filming in Savannah). Enjoy a delicious hot breakfast each morning, gentle porch rocking and southern visiting in quintessential Tybee beach style, and carefree island biking year around. Three private rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing