We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hiking”
Review of Usambara Mountains

Arusha T
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hiking”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not a trip you should bother doing if you are short on time. if you live in Arusha then this is a nice weekend getaway - albeit a bit of a drive. The bus ride up is a little windy and with their break neck speed of travelling - often frightening. There are loads of lovely walking trails and view points. You have to stop and buy cheeses along the way.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy_traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Not al all like the rest of Tanzania, the valleys reminded us of Nepal. A smashing place, if you can drive up to Mambo Viewpoint, do a couple of guided walks and enjoy this little corner of Africa.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireOldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent walking”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Three of us spent four days in the Usambara Mountains and wished we could have stayed longer. We spent two days walking with a fantastic guide called Goodluck from a community group called COCAFA who are based in Lushoto. Goodluck helped to make sure our time in Usambara was memorable. We talked and laughed as we walked through small villages, enjoyed fantastic views at Irente viewpoint and marvelled at the cool shady rainforest. At the end of one walk we got a taxi back to Lushoto, after enjoying the music on the radio Goodluck introduced us to a guy who put together a mix of Tanzanian music tracks for us.
All in all our visit to Usambara was one of the highlights of an amazing trip to Tanzania.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous part of Africa!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Usambara's are a little difficult to get to, but well worth the trip! The views are incredible, as is the fauna! Lots of chameleons too!!! =o) Go with Friends of Usambara and you're guaranteed a great, young guide who's super friendly and knowledgable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VicDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Experiencing the real Tanzania”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our family of 5 (incl. 3 adult children) did a two-day walk arranged by the Friends of the Usambaras in the hills surrounding Lushoto, through small villages, farm fields and forests, interacting with locals along the way. Fascinating experience, and a delight to meet people (mostly excited children). Our guides, Said and Victoria, were excellent -- personable, knowledgeable and earnest in their desire to give us the best possible experience. We stayed at Irente Biodiversity Farm, a fascinating experience by candlelight in a beautiful location. Other highlights: the Irente Viewpoint over the savanna far below, and the vibrant Sunday market in Lushoto; and the chameleons that "eagle-eye" Said found. An unforgettable experience!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank frostyhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Usambara Mountains also viewed

Amani Nature Reserve, Tanga Region
 
Tanga, Tanga Region
Kilimanjaro National Park, Kilimanjaro Region
 

Been to Usambara Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing