We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful place to eat!!”
Review of Matthews Cafeteria

Matthews Cafeteria
Ranked #4 of 130 Restaurants in Tucker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
atlanta, ga
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful place to eat!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been eating at Matthew's for years! The place has been around since the 50's and is such a wonderful place to visit.

The food is served cafeteria style and is all good old down home southern food!
The desserts are some of the best! Be sure to check out their menu online because every day they serve something different!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mozartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    36
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Southern Food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Just like Grandma's!

Go for lunch on Thursday for turkey and dressing. It's amazing! Deviled eggs and strawberry shortcake are delicious. So is the the pot roast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Oh My Goodness!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Down home southern fare. We LOVE Matthews. My teenagers choose it when they get to pick the dinner spot. I always have to have the squash casserole and fried okra. I most often choose the fried chicken, too. Super casual comfort. There is no other place left on the globe like this one. Be there or be square!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Country Cooking”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have eaten here many times and find their food consistent, very tasty, and reasonably priced. If you in Atlanta, make your way to Tucker on the east side of Atlanta just off 285. Its worth the drive. Nothing fancy to look at but the food is fantastic if you like typical country cooking.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drbob91947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointing”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went for the fried chicken and Southern sides. The chicken was good but not great and a surprisingly small breast. The sweet potatoes and the greens were terrific and helped save the overall meal experience. I was also surprised that the atmosphere of the place had little to no character. In fact a bit of a dump. Will I go back? Probably -- hoping they will up their game.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isthmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthews Cafeteria also viewed

 

Been to Matthews Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing