We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Marlow's Tavern

Marlow's Tavern
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Tucker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: I think it may be one of several Marlow's Taverns in the Atlanta area. It is located inside the Doubletree Hotel
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant is connected to the Doubletree, Lavista Road, in Tucker. The music is loud (but most restaurants have loud music to my ears these days). It does take a while for the food to be served. That said, the Bland and Blue Steak salad was very tasty. The waitress told me the best way to have it prepared (medium) and she was correct. Tender and well flavored steak. Tomatoes on the salad were ripe and tasty (none of the cardboard tomato taste). Service was very good. Young people would love this restaurant, bar, and upstairs patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncnativeazalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    68
    26
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Food, staff, atmosphere all fantastic! Sit outside on the rooftop deck if the weather is nice. You won't regret it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Priced a little high. Food took longer than it should to get to us. Friendly staff and good food. All in all, I would visit Marlow's again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Cool Spot”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

While staying at the connected Doubletree I made my way over to Marlow's for a meal. I had a Salmon dish with a spicy sauce over vegetables. It was definitely quite tasty and very enjoyable!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mellow-Ambiance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tate, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The atmosphere here was very nice by pub standards. It was dark, dark wood tables, the upholstery was dark, but it all worked very nicely.

Service was great! The young man hat sat us went over the menu and made recommendations and then the server followed up to ask if we had questions. It was our first time eating at MT so we didn't know that they send a small sample of their house chips with Gorgonzola cheese sauce, bacon bits and scallion over to welcome you. We wish we had known because we ordered the crab and shrimp nachos; by far the house chips were so much better- hands down....order them, you will find them tasty!

We both had the Ahi salad and it too was very good. I would order it again.

My only negative comment is this.... Don't bring ALL of the food at the same time. We had 4 plates of food on the table all at the same time and it's impossible to enjoy everything it once. Now, had we been in a rush (it was lunch time) then we probably would have appreciated everything arriving at the same time.

All and all, we enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. Plus it was very conveniently located just off of 285 on LaVista Rd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlow's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Marlow's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing