We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of better choices in this town of dismal choices”

Rafael's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
houston, tx
Level Contributor
258 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“One of better choices in this town of dismal choices”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Order at the counter Italian & pick up when ready. Food good and very reasonable. No alcohol. Pleasant staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrossRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spotless restaurant, excellent food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Their varied menu has something for everyone, from Italian to American, to Greek. I'm a huge fan of their gyro. The staff is very friendly, the facility is extremely clean and well cared for, and there's ample parking. If you're driving past Trenton, it's a tad off the beaten path from Hwy 59, but in reality, only about 3 minutes beyond McDonalds and Hardees. Worth the stop.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank misterblutarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Large Portions”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The food is good, the portions are large and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdysupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mtn, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rafael's chain restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Rafael's is part of a chain of restaurants. There are several in the north GA area; probably other places as well - not sure. It has a fairly good selection of items on the menu from American, Greek, and Italian fare. My husband and I visit this restaurant fairly often as we live close by. Trenton GA is a small town with little to chose from as far as restaurants are concerned. It is good (not great but not disappointing for the area), good service, fair prices, and clean. It may appear to be a bit run down; however, it is well maintained as far as cleanliness is concerned; otherwise we would not eat there. Their pizza's and the Gyro's are very good. The spaghetti is okay; but not a specialty. These are our typical orders, so I can not speak for the other items.

If you are wanting a more gourmet type meal and willing to pay a much higher price; try the Canyon Grill or the Cafe on the Corner atop Lookout Mountain. Both are excellent; but you will pay double or more for the upgrade. The Cafe on the Corner is a bit lower in price than the Canyon Grill but the offerings are different. If you are hunting for excellent grilled steaks or seafood, try the Canyon Grill (be sure to order the grilled red cabbage as a veggie). If gourmet 'home style' with wonderful sauces and specialty items are what you are after, try the Cafe on the Corner. My husband orders the Shrimp and Grits quite often. We take guests to both of the restaurants (and have never had a complaint); but visit the Cafe on the Corner the most. We have never been disappointed at either location. We have not been disappointed at Rafael's either. It is simply a different type of restaurant. (The Cafe on the Corner has outdoor seating on nice days. The Canyon Grill does not. Temperatures on the mountain are typically cooler than the valley. Eating outdoors can be very pleasant even on the hot summer evenings.)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zippadeedodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafetyD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food for the price”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Price and service was good. Food not bad either. Styrofoam plates ???

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SafetyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafael's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rafael's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing