We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food in a real low-country setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speed's Kitchen

Speed's Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Townsend
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food in a real low-country setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

One of a kind dining experience. Great food! Been making the 45min drive from St Simons Is for years. Deviled crab, shrimp, oysters, fish all fresh. Only place we know of w oyster stew. Laid back, slow paced. Its BYOB! Unique... It's several trailers connected in odd ways. Definitely worth the drive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank doriankeegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is a real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Speeds Kitchen is a real find, if you can really find it. As others have said, don't let the double wide trailers fool you. We went on Sunday and were told that this was the best time to go. They don't serve alcohol, so if you want wine or beer, you can bring your own and save yourself the price of 6.00 for a glass of wine or 4.50 for a beer. Our server, Teresa, recommended that we share the seafood platter. We got a bowl of crab stew, slaw, add on salad, shrimp, oysters, scallops, crab, fish, hushpuppies, and fries. They don't take credit cards so remember to bring a check or cash. The price is right and the food was great. It was worth the 45 minute drive from Savannah. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fried seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

That picture is not Speeds Kitchen, it is A couple of mobile homes hooked together under some large oak trees. We eat here regularly, and have never had a bad meal. Stay with the fried shrimp, thats their specialty. Overall a 4 out of 5. Don't let the outside fool you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fried shrimp heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of the great dining experiences we look forward to as a family is Speed's Kitchen Shellman's Bluff! You can always count on getting plenty of fresh fried shrimp. Our waitress was so sweet as well and had been serving us over the past 8 years. The owner still runs the register located in the kitchen, only feet from where the magic is made in the deep fryer. The restaurant is set in an old prefab building under the cover of beautiful Live Oak Trees with Spanish Moss. The meal is not speedy so be patient. It is well worth the wait! Btw, they only accept cash or personal checks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Came from Myrtle Beach on a trip to Jacksonville. I live in Hinesville and had never heard of it. They do no advertising, so that explains why I had never heard of it. The person I talked to in Myrtle Beach was going on to New York, but said he would stop here on the way back for sure!
The food was amazing, and the service was excellent! Definitely worth the small wait. I had the shrimp and scallops combination plate. Comes with cole slaw, fries, and some of the best hush-puppies I have had! The shrimp and scallops were lightly battered and very tasty! Wish I could have stayed longer.
They accept no debit or credit cards. As their menu states "If you are unable to wait,they would rather you visit them again some other time." They do have carry out service (for a small charge).
I will definately be going back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tazirw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speed's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Speed's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing