We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a room for the Masters....”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I'm conflicted about this review...A week ago, we had the good fortune to have friends who gave us tickets to Tuesday's Masters practice round. So we were in need of a room on short notice. We didn't want to stay too far away from Augusta, so based on the reviews I read on this hotel, decided it was worth a try.We had to pay $250 per night for the room---and had to prepay, no refunds.

First, the good things. The staff we had contact with at the hotel were very cordial. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room and the bed was fairly comfortable.

The not so good. I found the room dark and there was a dank, musty odor. Now that I am home, the odor has permeated the clothes I had in the room. There was no clock, no hairdryer, no iron or ironing board (I can't remember if there was a coffee maker, but I wouldn't have used it). Maybe my expectations were just too high based on the reviews I read, but I just can't agree with them. I think they are trying to do something with what they have....which is an old hotel which is kind of run down. I understand about supply and demand...I expected rooms to be high for the Masters timeframe. But I think I could have done better with a bit more research. Shame on me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzieshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your stay over the Masters. We are an economy branded hotel and all of the things you mentioned such as a hairdryer, iron and ironing board are not requirements for us. However, all of these were available upon request and would have been brought to your room promptly had they been requested.

I have shared your feedback with management to ensure that your guest experience may be a more positive one in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Thomson.

P.S. We Hope you enjoyed The Masters!

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Econo Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was traveling through the Augusta area on the way home to Alabama. I stopped into this hotel and was not planning on going to the Masters at all. However the young man here made one phone call and managed to get me a practice round ticket for the following day. He had directions printed up with shortcuts around traffic, and and printout with several restaurants and directions to each one.

It was very organized and well thought out by the young man.

As for my room it was nice. It had a fresh smell to it, although I cant be sure of exactly what that scent was I believe it was a lavender scent.

I slept like a baby and was so excited about the masters.

Room Tip: The young man is very nice and really goes out of his way. I will surely recommend this place to al...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damien w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your kind words and value your feedback. We are extremely pleased that your experience at the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA was so GREAT! Your comfort and satisfaction is our priority.

We hope that you enjoyed the Masters with the tickets that we were able to find for you.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We looked online and found the Econo lodge to be a pretty good deal compared to Augusta for the Masters. We booked 4 rooms and they were pretty nice I must admit. Nothing extravagant but your not paying for extravagance either.

It's a nice place, wifi is free and works fast.

It was great that I got to go to the masters after so many years but it was sad that it got rained out today.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheatme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your kind words and value your feedback. The staff and I are extremely pleased that you found your stay to be as pleasurable as you described!

We are glad you got to go to the Masters and hope that you will think of us again if you get to attend the Masters again next year!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Econo lodge was more than I expected. I read the big bright red flashing sign out front which was impossible to miss and decided to give it a try.

The carpet was a really pretty design. And the room had a fresh smell to it. It was a good nights rest. It's a good spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashtill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA!

We very much appreciate your kind words and value your feedback. The staff and I are extremely pleased that your stay was as pleasurable as you described!

We are so grateful that you found us to be more than you expected!

The staff and I appreciate you choosing the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA and look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Please call us if we can be of any assistance!

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Our company has had us working in the Augusta area and staying here for a while.

The value is pretty good and it's really comfortable compared to a lot of the places they put us.

I came in one day and there was brand new bed covers put it which was nice.

The fridge and microwave are nice for when I get sick of eating at restaurants when I can warm something up. Today marks 5 weeks that I have been away from home, and they could not have made it more comfortable and inviting for me.

They have been very hospitable to me and treated me like family.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mastertechnician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your experience at the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA was such a positive one!

I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire staff. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest, and we hope to see you here again really soon. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA.

Sincerely,
Econo Lodge
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before and it is not what is advertised.There was NOT a coffee maker in the room and the bed was so worn out that I literally had to sleep in the middle of it to keep from rolling out of it.I couldn't connect to the wi-fi from my room.I had to get up the next morning and go down and get some coffee from the front desk.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank BillFogarty3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire hotel I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We may have forgotten to replace the coffee maker in your room, and for that I apologize, however coffee was freshly brewed every morning in the front office for your convenience.

Also, the beds in each room are brand new Serta mattresses, not even a month old. Therefore, I am not sure why you found it to be so uncomfortable. Had you brought this to our attention, we would have been happy to switch you to a different room to make you more comfortable.

As for the wifi, Comcast (our internet service provider) did have some network issues in the area last week, which we informed them about, however this was beyond the control of the hotel. I am happy to announce that issues have been resolved on their end and that WIFI is working excellent at the hotel. Also, we would have been more than happy to help you with this issue had you brought it to our attention.

We hope that you will take this into consideration, and will choose to stay with us again, so that we may show you an exceptional guest experience.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Room I stayed in was reasonably priced, very clean, had a fresh smell to it, and was ran very efficiently. I enjoyed my stay with my husband for valentines day this year.

It's a good buy and value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annasouthernbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your experience at the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA was such a positive one!

I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire staff. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge of Thomson, GA.

We hope that you and your husband had a wonderful Valentines Day, and that if we can be of any assistance in the future with your lodging needs that you will not hesitate to call us.

Sincerely,
Econo Lodge
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomson
0.2 mi away
White Columns Inn
White Columns Inn
#2 of 6 in Thomson
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomson
Hampton Inn Thomson
#1 of 6 in Thomson
399 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Washington
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Grovetown Augusta Area
24.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Augusta
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta / Gordon Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 130 N Seymour Dr, Thomson, GA 30824-7208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Price Range: $59 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and enjoy all the conveniences of the award-winning Econo Lodge® hotel in Thomson, GA. We are conveniently located between Atlanta and Augusta, GA off of Interstate 20, providing easy access to several historic attractions including: Callaway Plantation Robert Toombs House The Confederate Museum Laurel & Hardy Museum Washington-Wilkes Old Rock House; the oldest documented house in GA. Thomson also is the home of several events scattered throughout the year including: The Blind Willie McTell Blues Festival, The Olive Hardy Festival, The Belle Meade, Opening Meet Tom Watson, Watermelon Festival. Other attractions and points of interest include the Augusta National Golf Club, home of the premier PGA golf event The Masters, Tough Mudder-Georgia, Aonia Motocross, Pine Top Farm and Augusta Technical College. Econo Lodge also is convenient to Clarks Hill Lake and Strom Thurmond Lake, and offers boat hook-ups, making us the ideal choice for anyone planning an outing on the lake. Guests of this award-winning hotel may also enjoy the added bonus of restaurants in walking distance, several specialty shops, a nearby movie theater and billiard room and a business center with copy and fax services.Your complimentary breakfast is filled with an assortment of hot, mouthwatering options including eggs, grits, waffles, bagels, cereals, coffee and much more. For your added convenience Econo Lodge offers its guests spacious rooms to unwind in featuring cable television with 350 Channels (Including 12 HBOs, ESPN, etc.). In addition, rooms are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, and free internet. We also provide free parking that can accommodate, 18-wheelers, oversize loads and buses. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Econo Lodge hotel offers exceptional service and value to anyone visiting the Thomson, GA area. The hotels friendly staff looks forward to your visit. Come experience our warm southern hospitality! Pet accommodations: 15.00 USD per pet per night; limit 2 per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing