We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lounge Made it worth the Stop.”
Review of White Columns Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Columns Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Certificate of Excellence
Forsyth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lounge Made it worth the Stop.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had a few problems while checking into the hotel but once that process was taken care of the rest of the stay was pleasurable. The girl in the lounge (Sara) had a great attitude and was helpful when I was deciding on something for dinner. I ended up just ordering in and the fish basket was very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddkp210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meal with us! We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care! We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Thanks,
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    55
    25
    8
    11
See reviews for
44
34
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had to travel last minute for a funeral and had to bring my dog with me. I was able to get a room even with the Master's going on in Augusta. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was extra friendly. I have stayed here once before and will always stay here in the future. Location is convenient and my room was well kept.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn during your stay in beautiful Thomson, Georgia. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the indusrty in superior customer care, we hope to see you again in the near future!
Thanks,
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhills NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We would not stay here unless some serious updating is done. The rooms are very dated. The shower water temperature varied from moment to moment. The towels were not soft, rather they were scratchy? The couch was worn and extremely soft. The a/c was loud. The room lacks electrical wall outlets that are convenient-try moving the king bed to get to the single outlet. However, the matress was comfortable!
We stayed during Masters week and paid through the nose. However, for the price we paid, I did expect better than a one star hotel.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Thanks,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel looks great in the pictures but is a little run down. We got a room with a king bed and in room jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was big enough for two of us and seemed quite clean, it was great to have a deep soak at the end of the day. Our room was quiet and the bed quite comfortable for sleeping. The best part of the stay was the breakfast, especially the fancy dining room with tablecloths, real plates and silverware. The food was plentiful with lots of choices, but we felt elegant in the fancy chairs and carpet on the floor. This place was great for a Best Western but don't let the white columns lead you to think it is a fancy hotel. It is still a motel with exterior corridors. I will stay here again if we come through this way but I hope the place will receive some cosmetic improvements.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldlchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us! We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Thanks,
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I am very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was a complete real meal, not the stale donuts and cereal you get at other places.
The price of the room was very good compared to others I checked in the area. The staff including front desk, lounge, and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful, especially Annie from housekeeping who greeted me every morning with a "hello" and a smile. Another thing I found refreshing was that the whole staff spoke English, which is rare these days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadacop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay we at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to provide each guest with superior customer care. We hope to see you again on the near future

Thanks,
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

If you are wanting to stay at this hotel this is the only review that you need to read! This hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and very helpful. The bed was almost as comfortable as my bed at home. The staff made sure that I had plenty of extra pillows and towels for me and my family. Also, the breakfast was wonderful. Not many hotels spoil their guest this way!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendyjeffcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care! We hope to see you again in the future!
Management and Staff of
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This used to be the place to stay but it has really went downhill! Room in 200 section stunk of stale cigarette and pet odor. The knobs were broken in shower so hot water got hung on and burned the crap out of my feet when I tried to cut it off, way too pricey for this type of stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Thanks,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomson
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Thomson
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomson
Hampton Inn Thomson
#1 of 6 in Thomson
385 reviews
17.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Grovetown Augusta Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Washington
46 reviews
24.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Augusta Fort Gordon
22.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#1 of 84 in Augusta
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Columns Inn

Property: White Columns Inn
Address: 1890 Washington Rd, Thomson, GA 30824-7202
Location: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Columns Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to call Thomson, Georgia our home and are delighted to be a part of your visit. We just love to have company...and what a treat you have ahead of you in Thomson, GA!Whether it is work or play that brings you to our city, we're ready to help make your time here pleasantly memorable. We offer banquet rooms for your business and social needs as well as great getaway packages including historic tours, golf outings, or romantic escapes.The White Columns Inn hotel in Thomson, Georgia boasts amenities including: Onsite Lounge, whirlpool rooms and suites, gazebo with sundeck at our outdoor swimming pool, plenty of parking for all vehicle types, and over 100 boat hookups. We look forward to serving you during your stay with us!The area around Thomson GA is quite often referred to as a playground, with a wide variety of outdoor fun awaiting you. Stay awhile, browse around and learn about our paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Columns Hotel Thomson
Best Western Thomson
Thomson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing