We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western White Columns Inn Thomson Georgia is the best place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Columns Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Columns Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Certificate of Excellence
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western White Columns Inn Thomson Georgia is the best place to stay”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Wow this is the best hotel that I have ever stayed at. The staff is so friendly and the rooms are beautiful!! The breakfast was the best of any hotel's breakfast, that I have ever had. They put my grandma to shame. I will definitely stay here on my next stay in the area. I would drive out of my way to stay at this beautiful hotel. It was well priced and a good hotel to bring your family to. Four of us had a buffet breakfast at no charge. And the breakfast was excellent. I just can't express how accommodating the staff is. After we got home to North Carolina, we received a package in the mail. In the package was my son's transformer that he had left in the room. They didn't even charge me for mailing it. We had searched everywhere for it. I thought he lost it at a gas station and it didn't even occur to me to call the hotel. It is the things like this that makes you know that they really care about their customers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanny4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
42
33
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maysville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed Friday and Saturday night at Best Western while in town to visit family. I have never felt so at home. Everyone is friendly and helpful. They told us about Mule Day and a Tractor Pull that were taking place Saturday. We had so much fun.
We had the Honeymoon suite and it was Fantastic. It had a seperate livingroom and a jacuzzi in the bedroom with a huge bed. The sheets and towells were so fresh and the room was clean. Above the jacuzzi was a fireplace with gas logs. It was so romantic. The jacuzzi was relaxing after driving 7 hours. Saturday and Sunday morning we enjoyed a eligate southern cooked breakfast buffet at no charge. The Historic Inn had Victorian feel with a fireplace in the dining area and beautiful stairways in the entrance. The front has hugh white columns and an antique carriage.
White rocking chairs are placed on the front porch welcoming people to sit and talk.
After eating a hugh breakfast there is a fitness room with all you need to work any unwanted pounds. I loved staying here and reccomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

listed as an historic inn, nice way of saying old, may have been a splendid place once upon a time. I requested a smoking room and as is frquently the case got the least desirable room, it's always the only smoking room available, the price I pay for being able to have a cig. before bed and w/ morning coffee, room was smelly kind of an old nursing home smell, not smoke, There are 4 different buildings in this complex so this was probably the smokers and pets section other people seem very pleased with them.
The breakfast was excellant.

Room Tip: do not let them put you in building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maysville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We have stayed at the BW White Columns Inn several times, the last time was in June when my brother passed away. We love the people, the food is great and their breakfast is a real home cooked buffet. My husband says they have the best breakfast he has ever had at a hotel.***** Five stars. The rooms are clean with fresh linen. Everything you need to make you feel at home. Need directions or just talk they always take the time, If you forgot anything just let them know and they will take care of it. If you are ever in Thompson you will not regret staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I had to visit the White Columns Inn when I came to Thomson for a business meeting. They were kind enough to let me get breakfast early so I would be able to get to my meeting on time. The GM come to me and introduced herself. She was the friendliest of any other hoteler I have ever met. She offered to have breakfast served early for all of us having to get to the meeting. She got all our rooms grouped together so that we would be able to go over some of the matters for the meetings. At checkout the following day, I called to have all the rooms precheckedout so as to get to the plant in time for the meeting. Judy was kind enough to bring me my laptop cord that I had left in my room. She said that when housekeeping cleaned the room and since she knew I would be in a meeting at the plant, she just brought it to me. I have never met a friendlier group of people anywhere. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if you sign up for the rewards program if you can get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany_lamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel on our way from Florida to North Carolina, I love this hotel. The lady that checked us in very late that night already had our keys and all made and was so friendly. The room was very cool and it had been a very hot day. It was a really nice room. The breakfast was fabulous. Amy was so sweet and helpful, she allowed us a late check out due to checking in so late. The entire staff was friendly. We will definately stay here on our way back to Florida.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamlong95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel! It was awesome!! The staff is sooooo freindly and the breakfast was great!! The price was good for the rooms....that look to be recently renovated! It is a beautiful place inside and out.....Good standards with a nice southern charm! The restaurant and lounge were a very nice bonus too!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutie_Pie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomson
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomson
Hampton Inn Thomson
#1 of 6 in Thomson
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Thomson
106 reviews
17.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Grovetown Augusta Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Washington
45 reviews
21.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Augusta West
24.2 mi away
Executive Suites Inn
Executive Suites Inn
#55 of 82 in Augusta
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Columns Inn

Property: White Columns Inn
Address: 1890 Washington Road, Thomson, GA 30824
Location: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Columns Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to call Thomson, Georgia our home and are delighted to be a part of your visit. We just love to have company...and what a treat you have ahead of you in Thomson, GA!Whether it is work or play that brings you to our city, we're ready to help make your time here pleasantly memorable. We offer banquet rooms for your business and social needs as well as great getaway packages including historic tours, golf outings, or romantic escapes.The White Columns Inn hotel in Thomson, Georgia boasts amenities including: Onsite Lounge, whirlpool rooms and suites, gazebo with sundeck at our outdoor swimming pool, plenty of parking for all vehicle types, and over 100 boat hookups. We look forward to serving you during your stay with us!The area around Thomson GA is quite often referred to as a playground, with a wide variety of outdoor fun awaiting you. Stay awhile, browse around and learn about our paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Columns Hotel Thomson
Best Western Thomson
Thomson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing