We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked one night here as a spur of the moment getaway for me and my hubbies anniversary, I love birds of prey so thought it would be fun. We got to go around and see the birds and owls and watched a couple of shows, watched one at 4pm and it was just me and my hubbie so was a nice intimate experience. Only problem was the squeaky bed which kept us awake when we moved in the night but other then that it was a nice little chalet. I'd come again :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for just one night, but wished we could have stayed for longer! The room (or chalet) was really spacious. It had everything. A large lovely shower room, very comfortable bed, and a lounge area with two beautifully comfortable arm chairs and a TV. It also had a kitchen area, including a fridge and microwave, with a table and chairs. This is more like a self catering unit, although you can order food from the restaurant to be brought to your chalet. Everything was clean and tidy and toiletries were provided, along with things for use in the kitchen.

In addition to this you also get free entry to the Raptor Centre which was fascinating and most interesting and worthy of a longer stay than we were able to give it at this time. We will certainly hope to return, God willing, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodhyfryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Falcons Nest as part of a photographic weekend which included a photographic workshop at Hammerton Zoo. On arrival at the Center we were shown to our rooms (mine was No 6) an I was pleasantly surprised at the spacious accommodation. The room was clean, tidy and bright with a large on-suite bathroom. The kitchen area was pretty sparsely equipped with equipment but more than satisfactory for a long weekend stay.

Being a guest at the Falcons Nest gave us free access to the bird sanctuary which once again gave us plenty of photograph opportunities especially with the flying displays. I have to admit I was not disappointed with the accommodation or the center and would have no hesitation in returning.

Slightly off topic, the Falcons Nest is relatively close to Cambridge and with Park and Ride approximately 10 minutes away (by car) and possibly 30 minutes away from Ely it makes a pretty good base to work from.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent room with kitchen ideal for family.
We stayed on route to a bike event and ordered a chinese and collected from a village warbuoys 4miles away and was very nice but the menus in the room are very out of date as it was a lot more expensive once collected
We were in number 2 which seems to have the massive boiler for whole block which unfortunately kept us awake all night :/

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcracer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My daughter organised the meerkat experience for my christmas present so we decided to make it a family trip with an overnight stay on site (the meerkat & reptile experiences are not part of the foundation, they just share the site). The accomodation was clean and would be easy enough to self cater though we chose to go into St Ives for dinner and breakfast. Could do with a better bed but what can you expect for £40 a room. Admission to see the raptors is free when staying. Lots of different birds to see, the laughing kookaburra's are hilarious. The more you laugh the more they do. The kids loved them. The only negative was the attitude of the girl doing the flying display. It didnt start on time so our 3 year old was already impatient. It had been raining steadily all day so the benches were wet though but she expected us to sit on them, after a cursory scrape with a squeegee, and be quiet otherwise 'her owl would end up in a field'. She was rude and actually shouted at my 3 year old foster child for moving. I took the children away and spoke to a colleague of the girl advising that if they expect people to be silent and not move while the display is taking place then they should suggest that young children should not attend. The girl did come over to us later to 'explain' but she was equally as rude. I suggested that she consider who contributes to keeping the centre open.
That said the place is definately worth a visit and every other member of staff we encountered was really polite

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jonseyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really cute looking terraced cottage (We had no.4). pine double bed (bit lumpy tho) and the sofa bed was made up too... lovely cotton sheets and all in all very clean...Very big bathroom with cubicle shower. Kitchenette with microwave and toaster and kettle and enough crockery. We took our own breakfast (tub of milk was already supplied in the fridge along with tea/coffee/hot chocolate and sugar). As it was a long way from any food outlets we took our own snacks etc. TV worked well too. Lovely fluffy white towels with complimentary tubes of shower/shampoo which is a nice touch... Really good value for £40 a night and it included free entry into the birds and display. £3 extra to go into see the meerkat and reptiles which is worth it... The meerkats were really cute (be prepared for a "smelly entrance", apparently these are the most tamest family of meerkats in the Uk. you can go inside the pen with them...Huge snakes too along with spiders are in tanks.

The birds are fantastic and the displays are certainly very educational.. It was nice to see young volunteers willing to explain the birds to you enthusiastically and those doing the displays were really knowledgeable. Definately would like to go back again and will recommend it to friends and family... So much better than a Travel Lodge!

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stay at lots of different places across the UK as part of my job, and often stay at different hotels for the variety. However, whenever I work in Cambridge I always stay at Falcon's Nest because it's superb value for money, you get a great night's sleep and the facilities are spot on. It's like a hotel where you self cater, and after a long drive you couldn't ask for more! Being able to cook for myself and relax in a warm, comfortable room is fantastic. Wonderful friendly staff as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhurst
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
7.3 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
9.9 mi away
Redwings Lodge
Redwings Lodge
#15 of 21 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation

Property: Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation
Address: The Heath, St Ives Road, Woodhurst PE28 3BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Woodhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woodhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing