We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stay at lots of different places across the UK as part of my job, and often stay at different hotels for the variety. However, whenever I work in Cambridge I always stay at Falcon's Nest because it's superb value for money, you get a great night's sleep and the facilities are spot on. It's like a hotel where you self cater, and after a long drive you couldn't ask for more! Being able to cook for myself and relax in a warm, comfortable room is fantastic. Wonderful friendly staff as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
27
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice cheap accommodation when you are away with the family. You get free access to the bird sanctuary included as well. All for £45 a night with the four of us. Excellent value considering the size of the room. Two big beds to use. Good size toilet, and a kitchen area with fridge microwave and toaster. I would definetely use this place again

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

as usual had a nice peaceful stay whilst away on business. Only problem I had was that when I arrived at 4.50pm reception locked up and took 4 phone calls to find out my room. That was 10 minutes stood outside in the cold. when did get through no apology etc even though I had left a message on my 3rd call.
Anyway once in I found the room as good as usual. I go for the more expensive ones as I agree the normal rooms have paper thin walls.
Could not have breakfast as you have to order the night before and as nobody about and on call was not asked I could not book it.
Room I had very large and all I could need.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lovely place the Raptor centre is fantastic. The rooms have your bedroom settee and a nice kitchen area for self catering. A cooked breakfast is available for £5.50 but had to wait ages for it. We will go again but self cater.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had slef catering accomodation for 2 nights/long weekend. All bedding prvided nice sized room with a bath.Kitchen had fridge and a microwave.
The price included a vist to see the birds - this was also excellent - make sure you time the visit to see one of the flying displays, there is also a nice cafe for food at the attraction.

Note - make sure you arrange time of arrival as the staff go home when the attraction closes
- not a problem if arriving later as they make arrangements with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHWMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in july, the accomodation was lovely, very clean and comfortable we could eat in with ease using the amenities available. Really enjoyed looking around the raptor centre which we were well aware is a charity and made the time to watch one of the flight displays which we really enjoyed.
We were a little concerned about previous reviews regarding paper thin walls and im a very light sleeper but even though there were small children next door and in the next but one rooms we weren't bothered at all by any noise issues.
We really enjoyed the freedom of these self contained 'chalet's and could'nt think of any reason why we'd need 24hr on site reception, we did our homework before booking and packed accordingly , we took our bikes and cycled round gratham waters en route, took breakfast and dinner food and drink and made sure we had our own phones so can fully recommend being left to your own devices.
Visited Ely and St ives and loved the surounding countryside and villages, cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: We saw the deluxe rooms and they looked really lovely so if you want the extra room and a newer acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallysunshine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location, but paper thin walls between rooms meant we were kept awake by the neighbors TV until late and woken by their kids at 6 am (the family were not being loud, it's just there is no noise insulation). The bathroom was also dated with a poor shower.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank glyneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhurst
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Huntingdon Fenstanton
3.2 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
Shirelodge Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 19 in Huntingdon
109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bramble Corner
Bramble Corner
#1 of 1 in St Ives
47 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eagle Mill Country Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation

Property: Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation
Address: The Raptor Foundation The Heath St. Ives Road, Woodhurst PE28 3BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Woodhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Woodhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing