We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic breakfast, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #2 of 3 Whashton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast, very friendly”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in nearby Catterick, the location of the farm is beautiful and just minutes away from Richmond and Catterick. The rooms are lovely, we stayed in the annex which was great and one couple in our group stayed in the lovely four poster room within the house. The breakfast was fantastic, freshly cooked produce with plenty of tea, coffee, toast and freshly squeezed juice. The hostess is a lovely lady and all of the staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble, fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
66
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I like to give a rounded opinion, giving details of good and bad, but I can't actually think of anything bad to say about this beautiful B&B. We were greeted by Jane, who was so friendly and welcoming. She had us seated in the lovely lounge with a pot of tea and buttered fruit loaf within a few minutes. The farmhouse was gorgeous, with lovely spacious, comfortable rooms. Jane was so helpful, she ordered our taxi for us and made us another pot of tea while we were waiting for the taxi. The garden was beautiful, with bird feeders covered in birds, including a lesser spotted woodpecker, a nuthatch and loads of other birds. Breakfast was delicious too. Can't wait to stay again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieCantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's a gorgeous place ! Picture postcard surroundings ! Lovely view from my room , which was very tranquil and the veiw breathe taking ! Jayne is such a lovely lady and host ! If you have not been I can only say you must !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellydouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Needing a base close to the Dales and Moors fo a week of touring and walking we could not have found a better location. The family Suite is an excellent set up with two separate Bedrooms, one double and a twin with the Bathroom off common foyer. Access was through a courtyard with several other units so is most suitable for those not wishing to climb stairs. This is a working farm and interesting to see all the coming and going although never an annoyance. The grounds and surrounding farmland hosted a variety of wildlife especially birds at the feeders.

The Breakfast's were substantial from Buffet Continental to full English if desired. Eggs are free range, cooked as you like and served hot and timely to get the most of your day!

No need to use a booking agency as our host Jane was most accommodating in arranging the booking with email available from the Whashton Springs Website. WIFI is also available in the Farmhouse where the Lounge and Dining Room are situated. To save a drive into Richmond for Dinner the Shoulder of Mutton is a mile north has an excellent Dinner Menu with a great atmosphere and service to match. Another Pub in Ravensworth closeby.

Thank you Jane and your staff it was a great 8 nights and hope to be back some time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We only stayed one night as part of an onward journey & we'd booked using a smartbox voucher but the room, food & welcome was still fantastic :-)

We had a ovely little room on the edge of a little courtyard & it was perfect for our stay. The farm is lovely & quiet and we had a great nights sleep and the breakfast was delicious, especially the honey. Would definately stay again & wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgbaston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to Whashton springs as a present, for us to use to travel and research my family tree. The owners were very lovely and helpful during our stay and showed great interest in their customers well being.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lovely place to get away from it all. A really warm welcome, gorgeous room , great service and fantastic breakfast. Beautiful surroundings and only a short drive from Richmond where there are some nice restaurants and pubs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sf98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whashton
2.9 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
2.9 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
671 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 50 in Richmond
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rosedale Guest House
Rosedale Guest House
#8 of 50 in Richmond
213 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 50 in Richmond
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
#1 of 1 in Kirby Hill
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B

Property: Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
Address: Low Whashton Springs, Whashton, Richmond DL11 7JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Whashton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whashton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing