We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Pleasant Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whashton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Pleasant Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whashton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We used the "Green Book" for B&B's, to find Mount Pleasant Farm on our way up to Edinburgh, and were pleased to find we could stay for one night (many places refuse) and would definitely stay again. Alison could not have been more helpful, the accommodation was well booked up, but on arrival she made us a pot of tea, and even provided biscuits. She went out of her way to help, and gave a lift to the nearest pub so the local ales could be sampled, and allowed icepacks to be put in the 'fridge . We were given a spacious room in the farmhouse which had extremely comfortable beds, with a good sized bathroom (shower), and all was very clean. The breakfast was excellent, including home produced sausage and bacon, and served in a very pleasant dining room. The farm is situated in rolling countryside with lovely views. (Just one concern on writing the review, is that too many others will find out about it and they will always be full)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back from 3 day stay and had to write a review to let people know what a little gem Mount Pleasant Farm is. We stayed in the Piggery and other family members were in the Stable. We had a lovely welcome cup of tea/coffee on early arrival which was very kind. The room we had was spacious, well fitted with wardrobe and drawers, lovely large bathroom and very comfortable beds. The breakfasts were very good quality and the dining room lovely. The whole place was spotless. The views from the rooms were lovely. What more could anyone want. I would encourage anyone visiting the area to book in and be looked after as we were. You won't find better anywhere.

Room Tip: As far as I know all the rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are delighted to have found Mount Pleasant farm. We stayed one night on the way south from home (Edinburgh) and won't hesitate to use again as a stopping point. Alison is the perfect host, chatty and bubbly.

A note awaited us on arrival "poped out, come in, you're room is upstairs with your name on the door." We dropped our bags and headed our to the nearby Bay Horse pub for some food. Alison knocked on the door later to say hello and was immediately accommodating when I asked to put ice packs for a sore back in the freezer.

Room was spotless and well appointed, shower worked really well (so often the shower isn't up to scratch!). Bed was firmer than we would chose "authopeadic" apparently, and our room was directly above a clock that chimed in the background every quater hour day and night!

An excellent breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate Alison and her helpers delivered a tastie, hot breakfast swiftly. Very well done as there were 20 people through the breakfast room - I can't even guess at how many eggs the Aga must fry or scramble in a year

They cure their own bacon and make their own sausages on the farm. Alison's husband owned a butchers for 35 years and still makes a good banger.

Beautiful setting, views across the dales from the front of the horse, cows in the paddock next to the parking, immaculate garden, home made rhubarb and ginger jam - All in well above average for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in the High Barn for a wonderful peaceful week, hidden away at the end of the field on top of the hill. After 8 days in the Lake District we were well into the second half of the Coast to Coast Walk with our 3 boys. This was the perfect base: a warm, cosy home to come back to at the end of each tiring day's walking. Fantastic kitchen facilities, spotless bathrooms, plenty of comfy sofa space to rest our aching legs, and the most incredible views! The bouquet of flowers, crisp white sheets and fluffy towels gave it a luxurious feel. Alison was most welcoming, charming and helpful. We would recommend this place to anybody wanting to get away from it all. It is a beautiful place - feels remote yet is handy for Richmond and the Dales/Moors. Local pub, the Shoulder of Mutton, was a real treat too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Alison is like everyone's favourite mum - she runs a lovely welcoming place where you can immediately feel at home. I can understand why B&Bs often ask for time of arrival - Alison got around this by leaving the main house open with welcoming notes for each guest, her lovely husband soon spotted our arrival and interurpted what I imagine was his busy day, to welcome us personally - even offering to run us to the local pub to eat. This is a lovely place to relax and enjoy a huge, tasty breakfast - we would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Everything was perfect from arrival to departure. Alison and Dirk are the perfect hosts - going out of their way to please their guests. I even got a birthday card at breakfast after my little one grassed me up! So thoughtful and typical of how they they are with their guests. Our family loved being at the farmhouse for the three days and it was fantastic having the family suite so the kids were able to go to sleep in their own room. We have already recommended to friends and family and will be back soon. Just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed in the farmhouse for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at Middleton Lodge, we were a family of 8 adults and a baby, nothing was too much trouble we had access to a fridge, microwave, lounge area where we could sit & relax with the baby. Alison was happy to give us access to her kitchen to wash and make up the babies bottles, some of which she did for us even though it was her busiest time, we even had our own little breakfast area and as others have said the breakfasts are excellent. We shared the 2 bedroom self contained suite with a bathroom which was ideal for our needs with a 4 month old baby, the other bedrooms were all en suite too,. Fantastic location in a beautiful part of the country, thank you to Alison, Dirk and staff for making our stay so pleasant and allowing us to enjoy your lovely home. The Sibley family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whashton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
4.7 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#2 of 8 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whashton Springs Farmhouse B & B
2.3 mi away
Low Gingerfield Farm B&B
Low Gingerfield Farm B&B
#14 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.4 mi away
West Layton Manor
West Layton Manor
#3 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Farm

Property: Mount Pleasant Farm
Address: Whashton, Richmond Dl11 7JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Whashton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whashton
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing