We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better !!”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Wellingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2012

3 couples stayed overnight at Manor House Farm on 22nd Nov 2012. We were requested not to arrive before 4-30pm and were looking forward to the welcome tea and cake as stated in the Wolsley Lodge Directory. We did not recieve the warm reception we expected from a Wolsley Lodge, and the tea and cake did not materialise!!
The accommodation was clean and comfortable and included facilities for making our own tea and coffee.
Breakfast was very simple, no juice , limited choice of cereals , minimalistic cooked breakfast and no choice of white or brown toast - only brown served
Our hostess exuded no warmth towards her guests, and showed no interest in them- her horses appeared to be getting all the attention. Perhaps if we had arrived in a top of the range BMW or Mercedes we might have attracted better attention!
Will not be recommending this place top anyone else.

Room Tip: try somewhere else!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank joyce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the self-catering cottage for four nights. No one was in the B&B, so the place was very quiet and peaceful. The open plan kitchen/lounge/diner was comfortable, especially with the wood burner going. However, beware of the heating - there is no facility to override the heating controls (time or temperature), and so once the fire was roaring, the thermostat (which is sited close to the fire) turned the radiators off throughout the rest of the property - so the bedroom and bathroom were cold. Fortunately the hot water for the bath was working well (we didn't use the shower which had hairs in it from a previous guest), and we had hot water bottles and extra blankets for the bed, which was very comfortable. The property says there is a DVD player - to get this to work you have to unplug the Scart lead from the Freeview Box and swap it to the DVD player. To be honest, although we didn't go there to sit and watch TV and DVD's, they really should be updated and made more guest-friendly. Wi-Fi would also be helpful for accessing the Internet for planning trips. The kitchen was well stocked, but the cooker hood didn't look like it had seen a duster in years. Having said that, it is an excellent base for relaxing and visiting the North Norfolk coast and West Norfolk attractions.

Room Tip: From what I have read of other reviewers, the self-catering option sounds the best.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MrWiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Title says it all, but the price was way too much. This was a B&B stay. they act like they are lord of the manor, breakfast was very poor quantity and Quality.The guests seem to come second,We could not Believe It. Its a run down dump. DONT BOTHER!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Manor House Farm B and B is in the most marvellous location. The area around the house is peaceful and well tended; the gardens/drive/stable block etc are also well cared for. The rooms are a delight; high ceilinged and light, with plenty of reading material and information about the area. The accommodation is relatively clean and comfortable if not over luxurious. However,there are one or two drawbacks . The first is the tea, biscuits and milk provision, or rather the lack of it, as there were two (stale) biscuits and an inch of milk in the bottom of a pint bottle; surely a whole pint and a packet of biscuits could be left... ..We were looking forward to a decent full English breakfast with sausages from the farm. Again the quantity was scant; a sauage half the size of a normal chipolata was given, a piece of tomato and a few slices of mushroom along with an egg and a bacon rasher. Even the toast seemed to be rationed. I think that when charging £100 a night for a double room such frugality is out of place . The most astounding aspect of the stay was the when the owner asked what time we would like breakfast. We said 8 o'clock. The reply came in an imperious tone "Have it at 8:30 and then I can get some jobs done" This is a B and B run not with the welfare of the guests uppermost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Manor House Farm in the tiny village of Wellingham is halfway between Fakenham and Swaffham. The village has no shops, pub etc, just a small church. The farmhouse has absolutely beautiful gardens to walk around and enjoy. We were put in the self-catering 'cottage' even though we were on a B&B stay - this cottage had a combined kitchen/living room and a separate bedroom. The visual appeal is top notch. The food quality at breakfast was excellent - eggs from the farm and other local produce. That said for the price paid I would expect a few more things. The issues were: (a) wi-fi: there is none - this needs to be provided. (b) old flat pillows - lets face it bedding is the number one feature used in a B&B or hotel - periodically buying new pillows can't be that difficult. (c) lack of flexibility - we were told when to show up for breakfast - there isn't an open window of time. while this may be an issue of space around the communal table, it implied the guest doesn't come first. (d) bedroom flooring - a very uncomfortable sisal mat - not nice for bare feet, (e) bathroom amenities - separate and new shampoo and conditioner would be nice - not old shampoo left by prior guests.

Room Tip: The rooms outside of the main house are likely nicer, newer and bigger - though I didn't see the...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

A beautiful old manor house farm with great accomodation. Every detail is carefully attended to for a superb relaxing break. The rooms are beautiful, big and comfortable and their is an adjourning lounge and kitchen for use. The lounge has a log fire which you are welcome to light and there are lots of great old indoor games, together with magazines to browse at your leisure. We stayed in the Harness room with en suite and could not have wished for more. There is also a self contained cottage and a couple of other rooms. All these rooms are seperate from the main manor house and situated in the courtyards. Breakfast is taken in the Manor House and delicious. A must is a stroll through the huge grounds, see the deer and walled gardens, orchards and much more. Owners are very welcoming and very helpful. The amosphere is really good and you feel so relaxed. Elizabeth and her husband are really lovely and always happy to chat or help. Good base for travelling around to other attractions and then returning to the perfect setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droledalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Wellingham PE32 2TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wellingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wellingham
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing