We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family cottage retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Salthouse, Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David R
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic family cottage retreat”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious and well fitted-out cottage. We went as an extended family with my father-in-law and it was ideal that there is a ground floor bedroom and bathroom which he was able to use, with the rest of the family sleeping upstairs.

Given that it was October we made limited use of the garden, but it is extensive and opens on to the fields behind and we had the pleasure of the company of quite an assortment of the local wildlife which we were able to view from the conservatory, including a few of the local pheasants.

We had great communication with the owner in advance of our stay - courteous and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thanks for your feedback, David, and delighted you enjoyed your stay on the Norfolk coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mail187
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family get-together”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Ideal location for my son's 40th birthday. Good weather meant we were able to do some coastal walking. The village of Holt is nearby and is an attractive traditional Norfolk village to mooch round.
The large dining area was ideal for the six of us to enjoy meals together. The bedrooms were all large and comfortable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LondonGhi...
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage and location”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked last minute and was ideal for us with friends and children even with the layout of the bedrooms, the kitchen diner and snug living room works well..... the weather overall was good so this helped!
Got to enjoy the coast and Cromer etc and the enjoy the local countryside, a bonus is the garden which was larger than expected.
Even the location of the cottage being off main road and lack of phone reception were not major issues at all....

I expect we might be back as there was lots more to visit...
communication with owner and information supplied was great,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen diner worked well for family
Liked least: lack of towels
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PretiumUK...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed and refined”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely quiet spot with plenty of room for the young and old. Enjoyed some lovely walks straight out the front door, in the woods, by the beach, across the fields... What more could you ask for.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foo m
1 review
“great place too stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I would recommend this cottage to anyone but especially families .
We stayed in August and enjoyed the whole week great base for exploring norfolk
The cottage was warm and comfortable very well equipped and well set out,the garden was used by us all especially the kids (aged 5 - 29) for games as well as dining alfresco.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the homely feel
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandS44
Lake District
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice quality accommodation in a great location for a laid-back coastal break.”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great cottage, very well laid out, well appointed, spacious and cared for. The garden was perfect for young children to run around in, and full of wildlife which kept us all entertained. The cottage's accommodation all faces away from the road and opens onto the very safe & secure back garden, which is just delightful. You can walk directly from the house down to the beach, it's a fabulous area for birding, and we found the food in local pubs to be of a particularity good standard. Our Tom Tom satnav delivered us exactly to the door of the property using the postcode supplied, which made finding it very easy. We found that mobile reception in & outside the cottage was zero (as we had been warned by the owner), and there is no internet or phone in the cottage, so you need other strategies if you need to read email, keep in touch with a dependent relative, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice house, well kept and in a lovely rural location within walking distance of the coast
Liked least: Lack of internet / wifi, because mobile signal in the immediate area is non-existant
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing