We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth in a Country Setting !!!”
Review of Flat Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swainsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flat Creek Lodge
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth in a Country Setting !!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

5 Star + Lodge, meals and staff in a country setting. The Managers (Jeff & Cathy) make you feel like a member of the family immediately upon arrival. Leave your worries behind as this is a great place to recharge your batteries...Best night's rest I have had in years with the birds chirping and the lodge room accomodations were perfect....Meals at the restaurant were exceptional...Resort type acitivites availab,e without feeling the need to be formal... Skeet, trap, fishing, hunting (in season), walking around the property, billiards, spa and game room.....No shortage of acitivites or just sit on the porch and enjoy nature....Don't miss their Award Winning Cheeses produced at the onsite dairy... Perfect place for team building, corporate outings, family reunions, weddings or just some time away with our without the family..... Unbelievable !!!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are sufficient for a couple, families might choose their Lake Cottages for more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi! Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to explore during your visit. We love connecting with our guests, and we are so glad that you've discovered us. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Warmly,
Cathy McDaniel
Flat Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    31
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
60
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A long way out of the way for OK accommodations and below average food-on New Year's Eve! Chef said they ran out of pancakes at breakfast. The property is pretty, Kathy the manager was very helpful. Jeff was very good. The menu said Wagyu Kobe beef for New Year's Dinner. Tasted like every other prime rib I've ever had and it the butternut squash and asparagus were cold cold.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Randy & Sandy,
Thank you for celebrating New Year's Eve with us down here at the Lodge. I am sorry that the food in the dining room did not meet your expectations. I'm delighted to hear that you found the property pretty and appreciate your accolades about the staff. We hope your year is starting off well and thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Lodge.

Sincerely,
Cathy McDaniel
Flat Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We discovered this romantic rustic get-away through Groupon. This is place is not for everyone, if you require cell phone service, Wi-Fi, or a TV constantly in your face this place might not be for you.
However, if you are looking for a relaxed place to “unplug” from the world this is it! If you are looking for a place to unwind rejuvenate and chillax, this is it!
****The service at this place was out of this world! ****Currie, Chef Joey, John, Lois and Steve made our visit truly delightful! Jamie our server was wonderful. She was very personable and made our stay very accommodating and special to us! Thank you guys!!
We arrived late afternoon on a Friday in August and were very pleased to find that our room was very clean and the A/C had been switched on ahead of time so the room was nice and cool. The rooms in the lodge are very cozy and we loved the layout. Steve helped us with our luggage and we settled into our room.
Friday evening we had dinner in the dining room and the food was fantastic. I have special dietary needs and the Chef not only accommodated my request but far surpassed my expectations. Unbeknownst to me, Flat Creek grows oyster mushrooms on the property….these little guys changed my life! The culinary experience was outta sight! As we returned to our room with a full tummy and a smile, we slipped into a cozy bed and peacefully fell into a deep slumber.
Saturday morning we arose to find coffee waiting for us on our back porch. Venturing back over to the dining hall for breakfast I discovered the best grits I have ever had in my LIFE. I am a southern girl so I have had many a grit in my life and none of them prepared me for these. WOW! Paige my dear, you killed it! (in a good way of course!) Keep up the good work guys. We are looking forward to our next visit!
--
Summer and Herman

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer_Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi there! Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We love to make our guests happy at the Lodge, and I am so glad that our staff gave you that experience! I will give your best to Curry, Chef Joey and the rest of the gang… and so glad that the grits were able to 'wow' a southern girl!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmly,
Cathy McDaniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The greatest aspect was the service in all areas - the restaurant, the welcome staff, the dairy, the cheesemaker (and wife!),. the mushroom grower- all were wonderful to spend time with us, answer questions and were available for any help we needed. We appreciated the learning experience, the freedom to roam and ride our bikes and the great food. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi there! I am so glad that you and your husband had a good stay with us! We really appreciate your kind words, as we strive to make our guests feel comfortable. We look forward to seeing y'all again soon.

Warmly,
Cathy McDaniel
Flat Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just returned from a weekend at Flat Creek. We have stayed before but the past weekend was our best experience ever! While all the staff are awesome, I must say Curry Nicolini, the hospitality manager and Joey Williams, the chef, went above and beyond for us all weekend. They are both gems at the lodge. We have referred many guests and will continue to do so. The customer service makes this getaway stand above many other places. Well worth our 3 hour drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are animal themed so pick your favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennhodge312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi!

Thanks so much for your kind note. I will be sure to give Curry and Chef Joey your compliments. Spreading the word about Flat Creek is the greatest compliment of all, and we appreciate you doing so. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

Best,
Cathy McDaniel
Flat Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had to go to a wedding in Swainsboro and were referred here. It was fantastic. Fishing off the back deck, worms, poles, and tackle provided even though we brought our own poles. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom cottages and had a blast.

Wish we had more time to explore the resort. Will definitely return when we have more time to relax and unwind.

Limited cell service but that just made it even better.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Whatever we needed they tried to provide.

Thank you to the whole staff for making this a wonderful time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teeba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi! Just wanted to reach out to you to thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us while in town for a wedding. Great photos that you've uploaded as well! We hope to see y'all down here again!

Warmly,
Cathy McDaniel
Flat Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We bought the groupon deal for a 2 night stay including breakfasts, a cheese and wine reception, and $20 dining credit. The advertisement said they had a working dairy and that you could take tours-when we arrived we were informed that "we don't do the tours anymore." I was pretty upset because that was a big reason we picked this place. (Food for me, shooting for him) However things worked out because we went ahead and asked the dairy manager. More on this later.
We booked in late August right after school had begun in most places. We arrived on a Wednesday and for 24 hours it was us and one other couple as guests at the lodge. It was serenly quiet. We loved the coffee on the porch in the morning-it was a nice surprise since we weren't informed of it. We did rent the golf carts, although $25 a day seemed really steep. We had fun zooming down the paths, and breathing in the nice, fresh air. We took a trip up to the dairy and loved meeting the people who worked there. They said we could come back on Friday and see how the cheese was made. We LOVED Ryan-and really had a good time chatting and checking out the different cheeses and machines that make them.
Our disappointments included the price for shooting and the feeling that 'charges' were lurking everywhere. We fished for free in the catfish pond-and that was fun, but we worried how much it would cost us if we actually caught a fish! (cleaning, cooking, storage) While my husband brought his own gun, shells, and clays-we were informed it would be the same price whether we used theirs or ours ($60 for 25 shots!) I'm sorry, but I'm not sure what kind of person would pay this kind of price. It was after that that we noticed there was no price on the menu for lunch-and wondered how much we would be charged. At that point we decided it would be safer to eat dinner in town-and found Crossroads Cafe (for which I have another review) it was wonderful and reasonably priced.
On the upside, we had alot of freedom-the spa was free to use as we wished. There wasn't any restrictions on changing channels in the lodge as some other reviewers stated-and we had the place to ourselves to eat a picnic lunch we had packed, play pool and watch TV. We had free run of the beach. (it was kind of slimy and murky, so we didn't go in) We got tours of some of the larger cottages-each with a different animal theme.
We don't like the feeling that we "can't do this, and can't do that" when we are guests at a place. We didn't get that feeling very much here. We also had no idea if we could go across the street into the area over there and would have liked very much to see the striped bass pond-we never got around to asking about it.
Overall we had fun, and enjoyed the employees a great deal. Guess we just want all costs and expectations to be up-front. Don't advertise things you aren't offering anymore

Room Tip: Be aware that all of the rooms have taxidermy animals in them. Real, animals. So, if the thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyFCL, General Manager at Flat Creek Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at the Lodge! So glad that you were able to connect with Ryan at the dairy and I will certainly pass along your greetings to Ryan.

While we have many complimentary areas and activities for our guests to enjoy, there are also many specialized activities for which there is an additional cost associated. We attempt to provide pricing that is as reasonable as our business allows.

Our staff aims to ensure that our guests are able to feel comfortable, and we are glad that you felt at home during your stay.

Looks like you got some great photos of the lodge that you posted as well! Thanks again for your time!

Warmly,
Cathy McDaniels
Flat Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swainsboro hotels
6.9 mi away
New Swainsboro Inn
New Swainsboro Inn
#4 of 5 in Swainsboro
11 reviews
7.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Swainsboro
7.0 mi away
Edenfield House
Edenfield House
#1 of 4 in Swainsboro
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Bradford Inn
Best Western Bradford Inn
#1 of 5 in Swainsboro
90 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Flat Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat Creek Lodge

Property: Flat Creek Lodge
Address: 367 Bishop Chapel Church Rd, Swainsboro, GA 30401-4310
Location: United States > Georgia > Swainsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Swainsboro
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just three hours southeast of Atlanta, the Flat Creek Lodge resort offers an oasis to guests who enjoy being pampered with beautiful scenery, gourmet meals and luxurious surroundings. With a plethora of activities available onsite like bike riding through nature trails, visiting the spa, dining, fishing and even various types of hunting, the exquisite property entices all travelers. Flat Creek Lodge also creates an award-winning line of artisanal cow and sheep’s milk cheeses that appeal to the most discerning palate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flat Creek Hotel Swainsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing