We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That new theatre smell”

Movie Tavern Horizon Village
Ranked #2 of 6 Fun & Games in Suwanee
Attraction details
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“That new theatre smell”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is decent, the staff is friendly and they put a lot of effort into keeping the place clean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    54
    28
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“family fun”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We like the movie tavern concept. Dinner and a movie in one place. Nice comfy chairs too. Went to several matinees and even though there was a younger crowd it was not annoying. It is also great that they give discount to military personnel (active and retired). Servers are good and courteous. However this place could benefit with few changes. Some dishes are good, some are ok. A little pricey for the food quality. Drinks can add up the check at the end, and I am not talking about alcohol, just soda fountain drinks, tea, coffee and shakes. didn't try the desserts. Popcorn could be better as well. Many times we requested popcorn WITHOUT SALT, just butter, and they never did it right, popcorn was always so salty we could not finished without having plenty to drink. We even mentioned to the server that we didn't mind to wait some extra minutes to make a new batch of popcorn so it could come without salt. It never happened. So that was a big disappointment. I don't blame the server, but the person that actually makes the popcorn.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbrameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We heard about the Movie Tavern and thought it was a great idea. My husband and I went to the matinee, and arrived about 40 minutes before show time, the ticket price was reasonable, the cinema was nicely set up, and it was very comfortable. There were many dishes to choose from. We decided to order two apps to share. We ordered boneless buffalo wings and bruschetta flatbread. The chicken was served with French fries and both were cold. We sent them back, and by the time the waitress came back to answer our light we declined another order. It was only about 1/3 full but there were not many waitresses so service was very slow. The flatbread was good, but when the movie started it was so dark that it was hard to eat and quite messy. The other problem we had was that the bill came during a very exciting part of the movie and we were trying to count out money in the dark. It was very distracting!
I would probably go again but not sure if I would order any food, maybe stick to popcorn and a drink. We arrived early as recommended on the website, but couldn't get in as the previous show was still running so we had to wait in line in the lobby. Maybe if you could sit down early and eat before the movie started it would be easier and have your money ready before the check came. A great idea, but disappointing, with some issues to be worked out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't wait until next time”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and 3.5 yr old daughter and I had a great time at Retro Cinema night watching E.T. The Extraterrestrial. Service was great (maybe because our theater was only 1/3 full). Got there 30 minutes before show time and had no problems ordering and dining during the movie. Kobe beef sliders surprisingly good. Had my IPA beer on draft too. Staff is attentive without being intrusive. Great comfortable huge seats and wide rows to let you stretch out. Prices seemed about right.
Already talking about going to their "Breakfast and a flick" some Saturday or Sunday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenanigans67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great Place to relax, dine and see a movie”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was impressed by the layout, efficiency and how large the Movie Tavern was. We had a great meal (The Game Plan), drinks, and the movie was perfect. The staff is efficient and quite, even during the movie times. I recommend going about a half-hour early for the show, to give you time to order and get your food, unless you want to eat in the dark.

First run movies here, and plenty of theatres. They even have a bar in front to relax and eat/drink before or after the show. This is our new, favorite movie hangout.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Batterz-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movie Tavern Horizon Village also viewed

 

Been to Movie Tavern Horizon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing