We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Rifo's Cafe

Rifo's Cafe
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Maylands
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband worked around the corner from Rifo's when it first opened and he and his colleagues ate here often. Fast forward a few years and it's looking and feeling tired. We popped in for a bite on our way home from a function. The service was pretty slow and not particularly committed and the bubbly was ordinary. You could look past that if the food was good but it just wasn't. Lamb cutlets? It would appear they trimmed the lamb, then threw away the meat and served the fat. Quite unpleasant really. Hubby's calzone was ok but we didn't bother to stick around for dessert. Should have just held on to the good memories from the early days. What a shame.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine for a coffee, don't eat here!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

For some reason this eatery in the popular Maylands strip is always pretty busy, maybe it's their deals. Pizza and a beer, or burger and a beer on alternate days for $20 is attractive I guess! The coffee is a fine drop, but the rest of the a la carte menu is really disappointing. I had a very ordinary spaghetti marinara which was not worth the price. Service is also quite arrogant and disinterested.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnyanny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yep, they say comfort food - they mean it”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Good solid meal, decent size and pretty good value for money. I'm new in town and one of my colleagues took me out here as I'm alone at the moment. Really enjoyed the no-fuss food and the size is perfect for a big eater - you can tell it's run by Italian men! Will be back with the family

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torsoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“service was nice”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Called in to grab a quick coffee (decaf skinny cap) for myself and a milkshake for the boy and an iced coffee for my daughter on a Saturday morning. The place was very busy with customers, almost every table taken. The staff were very friendly, order taken very quickly and efficiently. It was $5.00 each per drink, which is reasonable. My coffee was ok but I have had nicer. Iced coffee came with cream after my daughter said no, but that was ok. Service was excellent by 3 lovely waitresses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank my3girls68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great simple food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a smooth and flavoursome flat white with my Seattle Panini at lunch today. I think this had a good balance of flavours and the bread was crunchy to the teeth- just as I like it. My friend enjoyed penne pollo. Quantity was reasonable with good flavour and texture was good.
Our orders were taken soon after we arrived and we could see a steady stream of meals issuing from the kitchen. It took approximately 20 minutes for our meal to arrive. the range of options is wide and the lunch time specials are priced reasonably. Waitstaff are friendly and pay attention to the replenishment of water bottles, which is appropriate at lunchtime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rifo's Cafe also viewed

Maylands, Bayswater
 
Maylands, Bayswater
Maylands, Bayswater
 

Been to Rifo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing