We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May be the best place in Summerville”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Armstrong's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #19 of 31 Restaurants in Summerville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“May be the best place in Summerville”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We drove up from Atlanta to see Howard Finster's Paradise Garden and needed a late lunch. Armstrong has FINE ribs, but only on Saturday -- luckily we were there on a Saturday. Yum!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great BBQ!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love this place! The barbeque sauce is soooo good and the price is very affordable. Just be aware that they do not acccept credit or debit cards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackseatReferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great local haunt.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

You always know you will have a good meal when you eat where the locals eat and Armstrong's is full of the local crowd in Summerville.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank buzzrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudland, GA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really disappointing!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Well, everyone else seems to love this place, but I've been here several times over the last ten years, and I have to say the food is really marginal. Years ago it used to be pretty good. But now it's nothing better than most other average barbecue places out there. Service can be slow and surly, so don't expect a lot of smiling faces when your disappointing meal arrives. Meat is nothing to write home about; sauce strange and not very good. Salads are truly boring. Desert is okay, but I don't go to a restaurant to have desert. There's not a whole lot of choices for restaurants in Summerville, but this one really is down at the bottom of the list. Prices are okay, but I'd rather pay more and get some really good food! This ain't it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trion, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I'll start with the good: If you need to feed a lot of people then call in and order some BBQ pork by the pound. You won't impress anyone but it's edible and convenient.
The bad is numerous. Years ago the original owner had a great place and developed a great reputation for the best BBQ anywhere in the area. He served only the best homemade foods and the service was great.
Nowdays it's a different story. His son has switched from fresh food to generic stuff out of plastic containers. Nothing is homemade except the BBQ sauce which is utterly terrible in my opinion. It's thin and packed with pepper, not what I call a BBQ sauce. The meat doesn't have very much flavor. It's all a bit bland and there isn't anything but generic cole slaw or potato salad to accompany it.
I have been treated rudely on 2 different occasions by an elderly lady at their window and coupled with the 3rd class food there is no reason to go here at all. There are many other great places nearby so don't waste your money here if you have a better option.

Helpful?
Thank OleTravellinJacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armstrong's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Armstrong's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing