We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Knoxville
1 review
“Most disappointed!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

1. Requested for a non smoking room NOT to be put on the smoking floor but we were given a room on the 3rd floor with 2 of their smoking rooms. The smoke smell in the hallway is bad enough to make us to request for change of room. Receptionist did change our room right away. Thank you!
2. Both bathroom handles from the 3rd floor and the one that we were transferred were broken.
3. Hotel has free wifi - that was why we chose this hotel in the first place. VERY disappointed with connection. POOR CONNECTION. My children had to stand by the door to try to get wifi reception.
4. TV in the room - bad reception. The images keeps breaking up.
5. Bathroom: When I put the toilet lid down, I saw black spots on the front of the toilet tank.
We have stayed in other comfort inn & suits before but this location was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Rest assured that I will be taking a closer look at the issue and will try to address it right away. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    37
    10
    18
See reviews for
119
37
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's been over four years the last time I stayed in this hotel and I noticed a few changes. First, the ownership changed. Next, back in the day the lobby and my old room looked worn down. Now, since they renovated the lobby and a lot of the rooms, it looked modern and brand new. We were also happy about the competitive price and the location is close to a shopping center and many restaurants. BTW, the reconstruction has finished and so now it went back to being a quiet hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear MrEdnWilbur,
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Comfort Inn & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

i travel several times to this part of town and i always stay at this property.
the GM is awesome, I stayed March 2-4 2013 and they renovated the rooms and lobby.
new look and warm decore, well done.
I will def come back to this comfort inn.
Great Staff. Thank you for a great and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ben D,

Thank you for your comments on your last visit to our hotel. I am grateful that you have chosen our hotel as your "home away from home". We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

To be fair, the hotel is being renovated, so cleanliness was very poor. Overall, staff friendly and helpful, beds comfortable, parking was convenient. Location of hotel was very inconvenient and hard to find. In order to drive east of hotel we had to "go around the block",due to the hotel being on a one way off ramp. Going around the block meant a half hour drive due to traffic and very poor marked roads. No traffic noise was observed but the heater ran all nite, which may have covered it. Price of room was cheapest among the major hotels in area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time in writing a review. We have completed our construction and would like the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Stone Mountain. We apologize for the disruptions you endured while staying at our property to make our hotel look better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and I expected the hotel to be renovated. What we found was a hotel in the midst of renovating. Our suite was big but the bathroom was old; it has cracked paint, the toilet seat cover is broken, the closet doors don't close, minor inconveniences with the room itself. The tv's are old and the Internet is extremely annoying. To connect to the Internet, we had to go out of the room, and sign in again, several times a day! I called the 800 technical support number on the sign in the room but even they couldn't help! They said they would look into it. The housekeeping was bad. The first day, the beds' quilts were pulled up and towels were replenished, but there was no coffee or cups or soap replenished. I had to leave a note asking for these things. We got them on the second day but then got no new towels! The beds were the MOST comfortable I have ever slept in! Pillow tops with extra padding on top of that! The rooms are very quiet, which was extremely important, since we were there on New Years Eve and there were lots of very loud people hanging out in the hallways and lobby. The big compliant I have is that the workers renovating this hotel started hammering very loudly very early in the morning, directly above our room! When I complained later in the day, staff's response was that hopefully they finished those rooms. I heard a guest that frequents the hotel complaining that the price had gone up; the staff told him they had to raise the prices to pay for the flat screen tv's! The location is hard to find but once you learn "the loop", its easier to find it. Breakfast was continental and hot both, but we went close to the end of breakfast and they did not replenish any of the hot food (eggs and sausage, I think). I would stay in this hotel again because of the large suites, comfortable beds, and the decent prices they offer through AAA.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelernot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at our hotel. We hope you will give us a second chance during your next trip to Stone Mountain, so you can experience the real Comfort Inn & Suites - Stone Mountain, without distractions such as construction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain this past weekend, 12/07 - 12/09. We chose this hotel because of the price of the room and location. Caution on the GPS directions however, they were incorrect. Call the hotel and get directions from Hwy 78. You will be taking Exit 9 but to actually get to the hotel is tricky.

The hotel is older but is being remodeled. They replacing the carpet in the main lobby and 1st floor hallway. So there was construction smell but thank goodness it wasn't old cigarette smell. They still need to do some work in the bathroom, wallpaper peeling but it was clean.

The hotel provided a breakfast but we never went by to see what they offered. Opted for a full meal at a restuarant because we knew we were heading out for a big day and would be eating later on in the day. The Metro Cafe around the corner is open 24/7 and it had a really good menu.

Beds were very nice and so were the pillows. TV was the old style but it had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.

We would stay here again for the price and convenience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcs1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. We have completed our renovations and would like the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Stone Mountain. We apologize for the concern you endured while staying at our property to make our hotel look better. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Comfort Inn & Suites – Stone Mountain, we would like to thank you for your business.
We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet, but the room desperately needed updating. The carpet near the window was extremely faded, the lamp shades were stained, one of the handles on the closet door was broken, and wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling. The bathroom was not clean - there were dried drops of urine on the toilet seat when we checked in, which we cleaned up ourselves. The hotel's website showed a small fitness center, but it is apparently no longer open. For the price we paid, I expected an average room - nothing fancy, but not as run down as this place was. We tried to get a room in the nearby Country Inn & Suites, where some of our family members were staying and where they reported the place was very nice, but none were available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeM0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortInnStnMtn, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Comfort Inn & Suites we apologize for the concerns you experienced. I want to assure you, that your comments were heard. I have already addressed the issues you raised and I am certain this will not occur again.
I hope that you will visit us again. Feel free to reach me at 770-465-1888 to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer in addressing these issues.
We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations so that upon your next visit, we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
647 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stone Mountain Inn
Stone Mountain Inn
#7 of 11 in Stone Mountain
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#4 of 11 in Stone Mountain
55 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Snellville - Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
Address: 5355 Stone Mountain Hwy, Hwy 78, Stone Mountain, GA 30087-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites At Stone Mountain
Comfort Inn & Suites At Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Comfort Inn Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing