We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is awesome, but hotel is older and shows it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Hi well we stayed at this hotel a few days ago. We normally love staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels. We did stay both nights that we reserved even though we did discuss leaving and not staying the 2nd night. So here is the good and not so good. We will start with not so good 1st.

This is an older bldg than most HIE; there was a distinctive odor when you walk into the foyer of chemicals, smoke or something (we stayed on 1st floor because 3rd floor is a smoking floor); the carpets in the hallway were stained pretty badly; the room had a stale smell that did become less noticeable with the air conditioning turned on; the bathroom caulking had mold stain on it & the toilet had a 'rocking' motion to it when you sat on it (older bldg?).

The staff is wonderfully pleasant and helpful!!!!! If there was anything that they could do in regard to the smells, I think that they would have!!! The cleaning ladies were very pleasant when we asked for extra towels so that they wouldn't have to come into the room to clean. The location to Stone Mtn Park is very close and convenient. The free cookies were awesome and the gift bag upon checking in was really a nice plus! I also like the fact that after hours they had the door locked where you had to use your keycard to get entrance into the hotel from outside (made one feel safe, yet then made one question if there has been a problem with security in the past). The beds were comfortable and the linens and pillows were up to the HIE standard which was nice. The breakfast also was the standard for the HIE. Pool looked nice even though we didn't take a swim.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyhatwomantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our hotel is a non-smoking and smoking facility, so unfortunately the smell can be overwhelming. However in the near future, we are moving towards a 100% non smoking building.

Thank you for complimenting our staff. We appreciate the kind words and will continue to strive for excellence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

We spent one night in this hotel for a trip to Stone Mountain. We were extremely disapointed with the hotel; we'd stayed in numerous other Holiday Inn Express locations, and had come to expect a great stay.

When we entered the hotel, there was an overpowering lemony smell. While it was surprising, my initial thought was that it must be a very clean hotel. I never thought the scent might be intended to cover up something.

When we entered the room we were given by the front desk clerks, we found ourselves in a room that smelled like a sweaty body and something rotten. To boot, there was an air purifier running: a sure sign that management knew there was a problem with this room. The room should not have been assigned to anyone. We immediately asked for another room, and were quickly given a new assignment across the hall. The newer room was better as far as odors go, and staff phoned our room after we settled in to check on our comfort, which we appreciated.

This is nowhere near a new hotel, unlike other HI Express hotels. The rooms are quite dated, although our second room appeared to be relatively clean. The bed was comfortable, and we had our choice of pillows of different thicknesses.

When we ventured out of our second room, I quickly realized something: the overpowering lemony scent was gone, replaced by an even more overpowering smell of stale cigarette smoke. I nearly cried, I was so upset. The hallways, lobby, elevator, and breakfast area all smelled like cigarette smoke. This is NOT what I expect from a 2.5-star hotel, particularly the HI Express brand. We wanted to leave, but had reserved the room through Priceline and would not get a refund.

The proximity to Stone Mountain and various restaurants is great, and the staff are incredibly professional and accommodating. The breakfast was great and well-stocked. But we will NOT stay there again, and will warn others not to as well. Very disappointing; we're now wary of staying in HI Express hotels with which we're not familiar.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLSDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to respond back and give your feedback about our hotel. We pride ourselves on giving excellent service and accommodations. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations of us.

Currently in the hotel, we do have smoking and non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately, that smell does become overwhelming. We do try our best to reduce some of the smoke smell. In the future, we hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Stone Mountain.

Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Very good. Good location to Stone Mountain, We had a full breakfast . The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmyers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I am glad we met your expectations and we hope to see you on your next visit to Stone Mountain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My family and I spent two nights (April 4-6) at the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain. The location is perfect-- just one exit away from Stone Mountain Park. The hotel was very fresh and clean, and the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. We asked for a quiet room with a view, and we received exactly that. Room 302 (king bed, pull-out sofa) was at the end of the hallway and offered a beautiful view of the mountain. My room was spotless--definitely no complaints. The free hot breakfast was great--my 10 year old loved the biscuits and gravy. We ate dinner at a nearby Outback Steakhouse one night. The next night we went to a charming German restaurant in Stone Mountain Village. At Stone Mountain Park we chose to hike the mountain. It's about 2 1/2 miles to the summit and back. My husband and daughter loved the "Sky Hike" ropes course. The lines for this attraction can get very long, so arrive early. Also, make sure to bring/wear closed-toe shoes. Flip-flops/sandals are not allowed on the ropes course. There is also a mini ropes course and climbing wall for little kids. Downtown Atlanta is not too far away. The Georgia Aquarium is a must-see. You can get combo tickets for "Coca Cola World" next to the Aquarium. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, Sharan Singh - General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2009

Thank you so much for your gracious words about our property! We strive for excellence and we are glad we met and exceeded your expectations! We hope when you return to the Stone Mountain area, we will be your hotel of choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

One cant ask for more caring and supporting staff. My stay was highly appreciated and made more comfortable by a world class Management and staff. A very clean hotel with very friendly staff and great breakfast. It was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, Sharan Singh - General at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2009

Thank you for your kind words! We strive for excellence and look forward to your return stay back to Stone Mountain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

This hotel does not quite make it to the Holiday Inn Express standards we are used to. The room was worn and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The cleaning could have been better. Also the curtains would not close completely. That aside the location is very convenient for Stone Mountain. We had a view of the mountain from our room and we could see the fireworks at night. The hotel was acceptable for one night. I would pick somewhere else for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pretzel660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2010

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel! We strive for excellence at our hotel and we apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

We have since upgraded our hotel amenities. We will also be going through a major renovation in the upcoming months.

We hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you and your lodging needs next time you will be in the Stone Mountain area and see the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Great room - great breakfast - great staff. I found this hotel to be very nice. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the location was really good. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank takerrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlsm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next visit to Stone Mountain and hope you will stay with us and enjoy our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Mountain hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
680 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stone Mountain Inn
Stone Mountain Inn
#7 of 11 in Stone Mountain
520 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#2 of 11 in Stone Mountain
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain

Address: 1790 E Park Place Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30087-3440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Mountain
Price Range: $107 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain! You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations to breathtakingly historic Stone Mountain Park, Georgia s #1 visited state attraction! Contemporary hospitality and Stone Mountain excitement are waiting for you! Whether you re coming to Stone Mountain for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain is your personal retreat. We are conveniently located minutes away from Snellville and Lilburn, Home of the Parkview Panthers . Local companies such as Pepsi, Sidel, and International Paper are also easily accessible from our property! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. An amenity such as high-speed Internet, business center, or luxurious bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. We welcome you with to enjoy your evening, and enjoy your morning with our Express Start breakfast. When you come to Stone Mountain we know what you need. Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Holiday Inn Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing