We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back next year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2008

The staff was wonderful. You couldn't ask for more compassionate professional people than those that work at the Holiday Inn Express. They went out of their way to make us feel welcomed, and the Manager was readily available to address any issues that did come up. They are under going some major renovations, but the staff tried hard not to let that disturb us.

Great people and a wonderful clean hotel means I will be back !

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank knapper31631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 231 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2007

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Stone Mountain
Park. We checked in and went to our room. We walked into the bathroom to discover it had not been cleaned! There was hair shavings all over the counter as well as sticky spots. We also inspected the beds and found hairs in it as well. It didn't appear that the room had been stripped clean. We went back down to the front desk and housekeeping followed us back up to see what we had found. We were quickly moved to another room that appeared cleaner and the sheets appeared to have been laundered.

There was still dust in the room, especially on the back part of the furniture, where someone just wiped the front part that was easily seen, but not the whole thing. There was definitely short cuts taken place in the cleaning of the rooms.

The breakfast area is entirely too small. The attendant did a good job of keeping things stocked, but there isn't enough space to sit and eat.

If staying here, I would make sure I bring a can of Lysol and double check the room prior to unpacking.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank roadtrip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Located very close to Stone Mountain. Restaurants nearby. Computer in lobby. Quiet location.
If you are driving to Stone Mountain, the exit from I 78 is on the left immediately after you get on the highway. We barely made it over in time.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean. Front desk staff was very courteous. There were a few things that could be improved. Their "business center" consisted of 1 computer in the main lobby, so if someone was homesteading on it, you had to wait a while to use it. Their breakfast area was entirely too small for this size hotel. There were only 4 tables, and each morning I was there, they were all filled. People were standing around eating since there was no place to sit, or they had to take their breakfast back to their room. Walls were thin and I had a rather noisy neighbor. The biggest inconvenience was the room key. My room was at the far end of the building. Front desk suggested it would be more convenient for me to park at the back and use the rear entrance. It would have been if my key worked. Three different times when I tried to enter through the back, my key wouldn't work; had to then walk all the way around the building (once in the rain) to the lobby so they could reset my key or else I wouldn't be able to gain access to my room either. Was concerned with how long it would take for the commute into Decatur since this hotel is a little farther out, but I sailed right in on Highway 78 each morning, traffic not bad at all. Location is good; very easy to get to.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mailbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2004

My family of 3 stayed here the weekend of 12/11/04-12/12/04. The property is nicely maintained and clean. We had a king suite with sleeper sofa and the room was very spacious with mini-fridge and microwave. The morning breakfast was a little below average as far as the choices go and the bagels and breads were very stale. However the cinnamon rolls were excellent. The television channel selection was very limited but there were standards like CNN, Weather, major networks, HBO and some kids channels. This is the closet hotel to Stone Mountain (< 1/2 mile) that's not one of the Marriott on-site properties with easy access to the park. The area itself seemed to be on a downslide with a lot of shopping centers and restaurants empty. Security at the hotel seemed adequate. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank coastermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2004

I just came back from staying Thanksgiving 2004 weekend at the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, GA. I went to the Blue Ridge Scenic Railroad in Blue Ridge, GA and then to the Civil War Days program and the "A Southern Christmas" at Stone Mountain Park.

If you don't want to stay at the Marriott Stone Mountain Inn which is on site, then, the Holiday Inn Express can't be beat. It's about a half a mile or one exit on Highway 78 from the entrance to the park.

The rooms were VERY CLEAN including the shower. They had internet access in the lobby. I don't have my own lap top but the motel had one for you to look up things.

The breakfast was simple but good. The offerings can't match the layout that the Americus, GA Holiday Inn Express puts out, though. However, this particular breakfast was filling if you ate sufficent amounts.

The motel staff were very patient with my fumblings. They were very professional.

The TV offerings were not as much as I would have liked to have seen in terms of channels and there was no pay per view.

Also, a big plus that I look for when I go book motel rooms is they offer an in house laundry facilities so guests can clean their own clothes. They had one and the washer and dryer were located a quiet but secure area and were very functional.

I will be back to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain. One a scale of one to ten, I will give it an eight.

11  Thank HFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PEDROComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltonGM1790, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Mountain hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
669 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stone Mountain Inn
Stone Mountain Inn
#6 of 11 in Stone Mountain
516 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#2 of 11 in Stone Mountain
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain

Address: 1790 E Park Place Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30087-3440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Mountain
Price Range: $104 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain! You ll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations to breathtakingly historic Stone Mountain Park, Georgia s #1 visited state attraction! Contemporary hospitality and Stone Mountain excitement are waiting for you! Whether you re coming to Stone Mountain for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain is your personal retreat. We are conveniently located minutes away from Snellville and Lilburn, Home of the Parkview Panthers . Local companies such as Pepsi, Sidel, and International Paper are also easily accessible from our property! You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. An amenity such as high-speed Internet, business center, or luxurious bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. We welcome you with to enjoy your evening, and enjoy your morning with our Express Start breakfast. When you come to Stone Mountain we know what you need. Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Holiday Inn Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing