We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families with young kids”
Review of Stone Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stone Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for families with young kids”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you are looking for Marriott quality, you probably want to stay at the other hotel on the property. If you are looking for decent, large rooms with a pull out couch, this is your place. For us, the location worked out great. The inn is central to all of the activities at Stone Mountain. The package we got included our daily breakfast buffet ($13 a person) as well as 4 attraction passes good for 2 days. Marriott has cornered the 2 day passes, so you pay for 1 day, but you get two days to use them. This was a huge selling point for staying at the inn. You will not find the offer online or at the park attraction ticket window. My kids enjoyed the pool very much. While the Stone Mountain Inn could definitely do with some updating, it has a certain 1950's charm. I felt like I might be at the resort from Dirty Dancing. I would definitely stay at this property again. With the package we got, we actually paid only $66 a night for the room! Every bit saved helps on a family vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodmanonradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    178
    111
    51
    33
See reviews for
236
118
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just stayed here a few days beginning July 2013. Park is great and the location of this hotel is right inside the park. This is way below typical Marriott standards. It looks like it was a nice property years ago. The rooms are large but they need major cleaning and updating. Our room had peeling paint and wallpaper. It was not very clean. The bed linens were worn. I hope they redo this hotel and keep the charm. The front staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and I just love this Inn. Yes, the rooms are dated but the size of the rooms is awesome. You cannot beat the location. You are right across the street from all of the major attractions. I grew up 15 minutes from the park and would go to the laser show as a kid and always thought it would be so neat to spend the night at that hotel right across the street from the lawn. Since we live about an hour a way now I wanted to take my young children to the laser show and not have to fight traffic to get out of the park and get home close to midnight or later. It was so nice to pick up our stuff and walk across the street and be in bed within 10 minutes. I imagine that if you stay at Evergreen there in the park you would still have to wait in traffic to get back to that hotel. Also, we wanted to do all the "attractions" first before we did the one that involved water. Turns out you have to have closed toe shoes for everything including the water attraction but we were in flip fops. I ran back to the hotel and grabbed our shoes and was back across the street within 10 minutes. Had we stayed at Evergreen it would have been much longer.

The hotel was offering a dinner buffet and it was wonderful. Some of the best green beans I have ever had! It was great food and very reasonably priced. They had fried chicken, ribs, corn on the cob, baked beans, green beans, bread, several desserts, and a salad bar all for $17! This included drinks. I paid $12 for 3 chicken fingers, fries, and a coke at the train depot! We ate dinner and then headed over to the laser show. I highly recommend doing this. It wasn't crowded and the food was much better than what you can get over by the lawn.

The breakfast buffet as great too and priced well. They have your basic good breakfast food (eggs, biscuits, hash-browns, bacon, fruit, pancakes, breakfast breads, etc) and not all that weird stuff you tend to find at other Marriott resorts where they charge you $30+ for breakfast.

The pool was nice too and my boys really enjoyed the giant checker and chess board.

Here are my suggestions:

Check with the hotel about buying your attraction tickets before you buy them online. The lady at the front desk said they had a two day pass for the price of one. I wish I had known this since I did not realize that the passes are good for the day of purchase only- not for a 24 hour period. So, if you buy a day pass and you get to the park at 5:00 pm you only have 3 hours to complete things.

You have to have closed toed shoes for everything- including the water attraction- Geyser Tower. Bring water shoes or a second set of tennis shoes.

Bring several blankets or a tarp for the lawn or just chairs. It had rained earlier in the day and the lawn was soaked. I had three blankets and our top blanket was getting wet. I saw several people with one blanket and they looked miserable.

It took a while to do the sky tower- over an hour. It was fun and worth it but we never made it to the Geyser Tower because we ran out of time (we got to the park around 1:30). So, plan accordingly.

We had a down pour while there and the shops sold ponchos for $4. May be worth bringing some from the dollar store, Fortunately it didn't last long so we were okay without them.

All the workers at the hotel and the park were so incredibly nice. My hats off to Stone Mountain park and the Inn for hiring great people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MACGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Our trip to Atlanta Georgia started off in Stone Mountain and we were pleasantly surprised. We opted for the package deal that included the hot breakfast buffet and two days worth of adventure and museums. The rooms were extremely large even with a king size bed! The hotel is quite old so don't expect a Marriott that you might stay at in downtown Atlanta, you won't find it.mHowever the staff are extremely courteous and helpful. The breakfast was fair, honestly the best one we'd had during our full week stay in Georgia and that is saying a lot. Get to breakfast before 9, you'll avoid the rush and the possible disappointment of there being nothing left. The inn is in walking distance of everything Stone MountAin had to offer. Mind you the train was broken one one of the days but was quickly repaired for us to take it the last morning of our visit. Note that with the package deal you don't get to ride the duck ride. but that was ok for us. The first night we enjoyed the laser light show. Very insightful to the Georgia history. The second night we drove to Turner field to enjoy a braves game. If you are staying at the inn you can get in/out privileges. Between climbing the mountain (or taking the sky tram) to the sky hike there is something for everyone here. I would recommend this as a nice getaway for a couple or for a full family. There was a pool, however our days were full so we didn't get to enjoy it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent one night at Stone Mountain Inn located within Stone Mountain Park, GA. The location was ideal. Walking distance to all major attractions. All rooms face the courtyard, but you can see the face of the mountain from the front of the hotel. Very nice pool and a giant chess and checker set by the pool. Staff was very courteous.

This is a very old hotel and even though it is a Marriott, do not expect the same décor and amenities that you would get in a high-rise or newer location. However, the rooms were enormous. We got two double beds and a fold out couch and there was room to spare.

The dining room serves a breakfast buffet in the morning. We did not get to the dining room until 9:30am and as anticipated, the buffet was picked over and looking very sloppy - but I expected this. I am sure it was abundant and glorious earlier in the morning. The grits were absolutely delicious - someone in the kitchen knew what they were doing!!! It is expensive, but convenient - just try to get there a little early!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Because the hotel is older it is very dated....rooms were huge with large living room areas and even larger bathroom areas. We spent the day at the pool..small towels provided...pool had lots of shade with tables and lounge chairs....also had large chess and checker games with most of the pieces to play with....walked across the way for the lazer show. All in all we had a great time. Front desk folks could use customer service training and had to beg to checked in. Kept talking about being completely booked for an excuse but the parking lot was half full and the pool area with almost empty.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger king suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Macmomma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is in a great setting, and while there may not be anything exceptional about the property, it has a very nice, quaint feel. The rooms were nice, and the service was very good. We especially loved the breakfast, and would recommend including it in your package.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room with a view, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#3 of 11 in Stone Mountain
53 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
465 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Snellville - Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Inn

Property: Stone Mountain Inn
Address: 1058 Robert E Lee Drive, Stone Mountain, GA 30083-3093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing