We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Classy all rolled into one!”
Review of Stone Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stone Mountain Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and Classy all rolled into one!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I booked this trip at the last second for a spontaneous getaway weekend. We had never been to Stone Mountain Park and were pleasantly surprised! It was an oasis of peace and serenity right in the heart of Georgia just outside the hustle and bustle of its capitol, Atlanta.
The Inn is nestled just below the face of Stone Mountain and has breathtaking views of the sculpture etched in the granite. It was in walking distance of the Antebellum Plantation area, which unfortunately was closed this time of year (we went in February) and right across from the Museum and Crossroads area that has different attractions; Sky Line, Snow Mountain which is absolutely FUN, Museum, Sky Hike, Ride the Duck, Yogi bear 3-D show, Train and other fun stuff to do (keep in mind the majority of attractions will open in the Springtime). February is quite cold, so if you choose to come visit in the winter months bundle up!!
We checked in after 9pm on friday evening, but the man who registered us was so courteous and friendly, even upgraded us into a King Suite which was HUGE and so classy looking, comfy King bed, antique furnishings, sitting area with couch, chair and coffee table, desk in one area, the bathroom was massive and had beautiful fixtures and of course coffee maker and hair dryer, and iron!!!
Wifi is available for a fee, and we utilized that of course!
We had booked a Winter Getaway and recieved a free breakfast buffett each morning of our stay. The breakfast room is spacious and classy...quaint tables next to the windows that look out toward the face of the mountain which is just lovely to see in the morning! The buffett was more than enough food for an army; eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, biscuits and gravy, toast, bagels, muffins, donuts, HOMEMADE scones which were out of this world delicious, fruit and yogurt too! I think they even had ceral and milk!
The server refilled our coffee and orange juice before we even ran low! I was so impressed!!!
The only thing I would have liked in our room was a mini fridge, but other than that it was perfect!!! Thank you to all the staff!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level on the side, but they did have rooms that faced out toward the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdwalker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    173
    108
    50
    32
See reviews for
230
117
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed the day after Christmas to go to Snow Mountain. It was great to be able to walk across the street for easy access. We watched the Snow Angel show and fireworks, took a late night train ride and walked a few minutes back to our room! It would be great during the summer too, especially if planning on staying for the Laser Show. This would also be great for families with little kids as you can go back to your room as needed. The room was very large and had a mini-fridge. We had 2 double beds and a sofa bed. More than enough room even if we were only there to sleep. The only negative was that we didn't eat at the Inn's restaraunt or use Wifi as it was too pricey. We definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel room was very nice and at a great price the only down fall was they had signs saying concerve water, but he water that came out of the faucets and bath tub came out orange and the office said to just run the water for 15 minutes and that would clear it up. It did but we wasted a lot of water during our stay. Aside from that the service was great our mountain view from out window was awesome

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade in the rooms it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrlastres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stone Mountain Inn lives up to the Marriott name. This is an absolutely wonderful hotel situated on the grounds of Stone Mountain Park and at the base of the mountain. There is a cable car ride available to take you to the top of the mountain. There is a theme park onsite. I consider it hidden because I did not see it mentioned anywhere and we accidentally stumbled upon it. A train ride is available to take you around the mountain if you are afraid of heights or of cable cars leaving you suspended midair due to technical difficulties. :) There are an amazing amounts of walking trails to go off and explore. There are two restaurants onsite. With the hotel located on the park grounds there is a one time $10 entrance fee. Once you register at the front desk they will give you a placard for your car. This provides open and free access to come and go through the park entrance, at will.

Room Tip: Anywhere in this hotel is just absolutely amazing. My mom had a one bedroom suite and we had a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have been to Stone Mountain before but decided to stay at the Inn this time for Snow Mountain. The room we had was outside access but very large. The 4 of us had room to spare and we weren't tripping over each other. The rooms have been updated but still are not brand new. We weren't in the room that much except to sleep! What was really fantastic was we were across the street from Snow Mountain and all the fun, no shuttles, now driving - it was great!! This Inn was not what we have come to expect from Marriott! The friendliness was not there and the restaurant was not a good value or good selection! The good news is that there are a huge assortment of restaurants about a mile from the Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms look over the courtyard but the rooms at the front have a view of Stone Mountain from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler10531558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

From the moment you step into the lobby you feel welcomed, almost at home. The room was HUGE, very clean. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was spacious and it was very quiet. Staff were very helpful answering questions about the park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgoGirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an excellent place for a families. Although an older property and more like a motel, Marriott has updated everything, including carpeting, beds, and bathrooms. The rooms are HUGE - two double beds and a sleeper sofa - you could add at least 3 more sleeping bags if you wanted. The location is directly across the street from the Stone Mountain theme park, giving us the option of returning to the room mid-day to get changed, take a nap, etc. The hotel is literally under the shadow of the sculpture on the mountain - absolutely beautiful.

Notes:

- We purchased room + breakfast for $20 extra - this was well worth it for the hot breakfast buffet. There are no other breakfast options nearby.
- The walls are a bit thin - not exactly noise-proof.
- The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner - you will need to explore other options.

Admittedly, this is not a place for a romantic getaway - you probably want to go to the posher Marriott Evergreen resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poohmacat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#1 of 11 in Stone Mountain
623 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#4 of 11 in Stone Mountain
50 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Stone Mountain
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
Days Inn Atlanta Stone Mountain
#8 of 11 in Stone Mountain
456 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Snellville - Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Inn

Property: Stone Mountain Inn
Address: 1058 Robert E Lee Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30083-3093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing