We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Mountain, Middle of the Road Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top of the Mountain, Middle of the Road Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although Stone Mountain is picturesque - it is a bit of a trip out of the city of Atlanta. This Marriott conference resort featured lush golf greens and magnificent views of the famed Stone Mountain. The resort landscape and grounds are top notch. It is surrounded by hiking, biking, and jogging trails. It's also located right in the middle of the Stone Mountain Amusement Park complex.

ABOUT THE HOTEL: The overall service was earnest enough but the room service was an exercise in frustration. This hotel operates as if it's more of an independent than a badged, corporate Marriott brand property. Inside it's pretty utilitarian with casino-style carpets and so-so room layouts. The hallways can be long - if you forget something in your room, you'll be scolding yourself all the way back!

TOP MARKS: Spa was small but had a sophisticated, service-oriented feel that is more like what you would find in higher-end properties. Valets/Bellmen were quick and responsive.
COULD BE IMPROVED: Room service, hotel layout, casino-ish carpeting, so-so rooms with average views.
Because the resort is somewhat secluded - eating options can be limited. Multiple room service attempts yielded similarly mixed, delayed or erroneous orders. Now, management definitely did attempt to correct room service issues, but the room service issues continued.
Better options for dining are the Waterside restaurant buffet or the small sports bar located in the hotel complex.

Room Tip: Unless you are relatively fit, make sure that you ask how far the rooms are from the elevator. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    252
    100
    39
    40
See reviews for
324
172
13
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our family gathered from New York, Connecticut & Florida to celebrate a wedding. Stone Mountain Georgia was the perfect setting. the Evergreen Marriot was the perfect place to stay for the week end. Plenty of activities to keep everyone of all ages busy. Staff at hotel always helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the second floor which was conveniently located to pool, gym & restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stone Mountain is one of Atlantas hidden secrets. Close to the city via road yet so camouflaged against the busy hurried life of such a huge metropolis. Added to this city in the peaceful surroundings of Stone Mountain is a magnificent relaxing hotel with an outstanding restaurant with extremely reasonable prices. This hotel could easily be a venue for a vacation by itself in Stone Mountain with its varied attractions including a magnificent lake, a rain forest like refuge, huge parks and two world class golf courses. Yet it is so close to the city that it also becomes a haven of rest welcoming you upon your return from the gritty hurried daily life in Atlanta.

Cons: The terrain around Stone Mountain makes cell phone reception problematical. This must, and can, be addressed. I will never understand why hotels of this class find it necessary to add internet as an additional charge. You are also forced to pay a one-off entry to Stone Mountain Park (certainly worth it!). However, I again ask the question why the hotel cant absorb this cost on behalf of its guests. Just niggly petty issues which detract from a truly first class experience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake....I stayed in 272 and was very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erskine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a company event here and stayed 2 nights with a day of golf. The resort is very nice, staff hospitable, great food, and the grounds offer nice waterfront views. Golf was a lot of fun, grounds were well kept and very scenic. There are plenty of nice trails around the property for jogging and hiking. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dc2011dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for a retreat. I love Stone Mountain but this place is definitely not worth the price. Room 554 faces the lake so you have a spectacular wooded view. The patio on the other hand was dirty and musty. I know there's nothing you can do about the bugs but at least power wash the patio furniture every now and then. Smelled the same musty/mildewy smell on my pillowcases, towels and at check out whilst leaving out of the side entrance (carpet??) Paid $30 pp for a seafood buffet that was underwhelming at best. Golden Corral has a better buffet! Lunch the next day was even worse. Basic continental breakfast is $12+pp, ridiculous. Unexplained fire alarm at 2am with no one telling us we were all clear until 20 mins after the fact was the final straw. The only good thing I can say about this place is that the beds are comfy (if there aren't any bugs sleeping with you) albeit MUSTY...ample meeting space and the outdoor pool/jacuzzi are nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoast_Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful The staff could not have been any friendlier..front desk personnel, room staff, house keeping..the pool, the bar-restaurant..everything was above and beyond the expected. The surrounding park, absolutely beautiful campground, kayaking, paddleboat, fishing..everything in one complex..

Room Tip: come and have a good time. everyroom was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Marriott Evergreen has got a great location just inside the main gate of Stone Mountain Park. The park offers hiking, history, a lake, golf facility and special events area. We were there for the Yellow Daisy Festival, and the location couldn't have been more convenient. The most helpful staff were the guys around back at the loading dock, where we had to receive multiple packages over the course of our stay. They made it easy to get to our stuff, and offered to assist every time we were there. The rest of the staff were courteous, but not memorable.

The hallways and rooms seemed dated to us, and a bit dark. The first room we were given smelled strongly of smoke, so we were moved to another, although no apology for the inconvenience was given. The room did have a little balcony and a view of the lake through the trees, which was nice. A late-night dinner at the sports bar downstairs was underwhelming, and service was excruciatingly slow, though polite. The lobby is clean and modern.

I think it's a little lame they only offer a $10 food credit for the entire stay to Platinum members. I opted for points instead, but they weren't credited. I had to call and track them down after my stay to get even that. Overall it is a nice spot, and I wouldn't avoid it, but I wouldn't seek it out either if there were other options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaramunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Inn
#6 of 11 in Stone Mountain
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stone Mountain Manor
#7 of 11 in Stone Mountain
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort

Property: Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort
Address: 4021 Lakeview Drive, Stone Mountain, GA 30083
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stone Mountain
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with conference center located in Stone Mountain Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Marriott Hotel Stone Mountain
Evergreen Marriott Conference Hotel
Marriott Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing