We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping with lots to do with children”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Mountain Family Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there over spring break. This was our 2nd time there. Love it relaxing. Lots of fun things to do with small children. Staff extremely helpful they keep the park very clean. Only downfall was pool to cold to swim. We already booked for next spring it will be our 3rd year. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lightning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 247 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I love to visit Stone Mountain but this was the first time camping. The price per night was expensive compared to most campgrounds! Having a pop up I pay attention to the bathhouses and this one has been the worst. Gross toilets, floors, ceilings, sinks, etc! In the womens there was one sink that worked for a large campground and the outlets in the bathroom weren't working. Again we really enjoy Stone Mountain Park but will think twice before camping again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heather_mlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've camped for 45 years. I've never hated a campground until now. First off, this is very expensive for a campsite. We camped a couple of weeks ago at a Georgia State Park for half the price of this place and it was so much nicer it's hard to believe. The campsites are very close together, very ugly and not well kept. Our site had some dormant grass and lots of weeds, it was mostly red dirt with a little gravel and lots of leaves. Not sure where the leaves came from because there were very few trees. We were told when we made our reservation "all of our sites are private and heavily wooded". Not true at all. Most of this place looked like a mobile home park. Bath houses were nasty, also first time on a camping trip something of ours was stolen. From bath house. We hated it.

Room Tip: Orange loop 32 was decent, the tent sites near the lake are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parrot111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is just a beautiful area to camp. We would definitely come back in warmer weather. You are right outside Atlanta but feel like you are way out in the country.
Shower houses were very clean.
My only complaint would be the campground office staff. We had reservations and let them know that we would arrive late. Basically, they are very, very disorganized. They did not have us on a list of late arrivals. We had no clue where our RV site was, late at night. This is not fun in a 36 foot RV in the dark, in the woods. Needless to say we just found one and hooked up and moved to the correct one the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank MKD-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Stone Mountain. It is a nice campground . Celebrated the New Year here. Looks like it would really be nice in Spring and Summer with the pool area and the laser show at the Stone Mountain Park. It will be on our list to return to.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It's not often that we pay $55 per night for a campsite. This is an "urban" park and offers convenient access to Atlanta and it's surrounding suburbs. We commuted into Atlanta for a convention via the rail service which was a convenient safe way to travel into the city. The Park is attractive and heavily wooded and has a variety of camping areas some of which are sunny and near the pool - others more secluded and wooded. There was no traffic noise - a pleasant surprise in such a heavily populated area. Good shopping just outside the Main gate. Laundry and restrooms were clean. Plan to stay 2-3 nights to get the most of your visit.

Room Tip: Ask the reservations clerk to help you select a site you will be happy with. some sites are not leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJFogelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We planned to spend 2-days, one night in Atlanta. The boys were out of school on Fall Break at a time when most other schools are in session. It's the time when we can go see regional attractions without the crowds. I've been wanting to take the boys to see Stone Mountain and staying at the campground made sense. The boys were a little leery of spending the night in a tent sense we had not had many good experiences. But this was different. We stayed at site #194, lakeside. The view of the mountain was beautiful. Someone else wrote a review saying that it was a long way to the restrooms, but not where we stayed. They also said that the site was steep, and it is true that the only level place for the tent was on the pad next to gravel parking slip. This worked out fine, even for our large 10'x10' cabin tent. The fire ring, picnic table and grill were located on the uneven terrain leading down to the lake. That was fine for us. We did not use the picnic table or grill because we were so close to great restaurants, so why bother?! After dinner, we drove over to the Antebellum Plantation and went on a "Ghost Tour", where professional story tellers in costume told scary tales about the South. A great activity, being so close to Halloween. Thank you Rotary for organizing the event. After the tour, back at camp we made a fire and sat around telling a few of our own ghost stories. Eventually we went to sleep. In the morning, the pre-dawn sun illuminated the mountain. Upon seeing the beautiful of the mountain reflected in the placid lake, my teenager said, "this is better than a hotel dad." And cheaper too, I thought to my self.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to get a site with water and electric. We needed the electric so the boys co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Mountain hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Stone Mountain, GA
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta/Stone Mountain
1.4 mi away
Stone Mountain Manor
Stone Mountain Manor
#3 of 11 in Stone Mountain
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stone Mountain Inn
Stone Mountain Inn
#7 of 11 in Stone Mountain
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlanta Evergreen Marriott Conference Resort
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stone Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mountain Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Family Campground

Address: 1000 Robert E. Lee Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Stone Mountain
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground facility with over 400 scenic sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Mountain Family Campground Hotel Stone Mountain
Family Campground Stone Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing