We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view”

Stone Mountain Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stone Mountain Park is Georgia's most visited attraction, drawing nearly 4 million guests each year. With over 3,200 acres of natural beauty, the Park is a unique and fun destination where families and friends can enjoy the outdoors together, while experiencing an exciting variety of attractions, entertainment and recreation. It's home to the worlds largest LaserShow Spectacular, tons of attractions, two championship golf courses, a campground and two Mariott hotels.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
227 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well worth a visit, the day we went it was very windy at the top but the views are incredible, there were only a couple of attractions open.
But just to see the carvings on the cliff face is worth the entrance fee and then look in the museum to see a full size replica of part of the carvings. Makes you wonder how on earth it was accomplished

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,589
    927
    309
    98
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My morning workout place”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The serenity and the scenery keep the five mile loop around the mountain as my favorite place to run. The trails close-in to the mountain are great as well, but be cautious during and after wet weather -- the granite gets very slick.

The tourists seem to like the other park amenities ;-)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wxjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family activity if you are passing by Atlanta”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were passing by Atlanta, Georgia, and looking for an inexpensive family outing. A friend suggested we hike Stone Mountain together as a family. It was a wonderful challenge for all of us - mom, dad, and four teen daughters. Not too easy and not too hard! We lived overseas for a number of years, so it was especially fun meeting folks from Korea, China, and Japan as we made our way to the top. Of course, the gorgeous view from the top was a great reward! A father RAN the one mile hike up and down, pushing three small sons in a jogging stroller... pretty impressive. We enjoyed a walk around the front side of the park once we finished the hike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadisonMom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great place to get out and enjoy nature. A walk up the mountain is best. Take the cable car if walking a mile up hill does not appeal to you. You have to have a car to get there, and it's expensive (government owned). Also, there is a fantastic little Civil War museum. The grist mill is neat, too. Lots to explore there. The train ride around is great for kids.

Helpful?
Thank Wordy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stone Mountain Park- Great place to Walk or Hike”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stone Mountain is just 5 miles from our home and my husband walks the 5 miles around the mountain 4 to 6 times a week. Walking anytime of day is great, but the early daylight hours are magical - mist rising above the lake or coming across a deer or two. There are several other hiking trails as well. To think it's just 15 miles from the busyness of Atlanta makes the serenity even more special.

Weekend mornings are usually quite crowded. It's great to see so many people taking advantage of walking in this beautiful environment.

Hiking up the mountain is easy. When you pass 5 year olds in flip flops any concern you might have lifts like that morning mist you may have seen. On a clear day the view from the top of the mountain is priceless - Atlanta skyline, Kennesaw Mountain and the North Georgia Mountains. You can walk down or you can ride the sky lift, but that does take a ticket or an annual pass. If you live in the area, consider an annual pass which is called a Mountain Membership. So many other great activities, check out the website, stonemountainpark.com

There is a fee to park your car in the park: $10 for one day, $35 for an annual pass , just $20 for an annual pass if you are a Mountain Member. OR you can park in the town of Stone Mountain by the railroad car parking lot, then walk approximately 1/4 mile into the park.

Atlanta's beautiful spring weather and colorful blooms are around the corner. Check out Stone Mountain Park and enjoy a hike in nature plus the many, many others things to do and see.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieinTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain Park also viewed

 

Been to Stone Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing