We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT weekday trip to avoid the crowds”

Stone Mountain Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stone Mountain Park is Georgia's most visited attraction, drawing nearly 4 million guests each year. With over 3,200 acres of natural beauty, the Park is a unique and fun destination where families and friends can enjoy the outdoors together, while experiencing an exciting variety of attractions, entertainment and recreation. It's home to the worlds largest LaserShow Spectacular, tons of attractions, two championship golf courses, a campground and two Mariott hotels.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT weekday trip to avoid the crowds”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We went on a Monday/Tuesday and the park was almost empty of crowds. It was a wonderful visit. Our grand-daughter is 4 and she enjoyed the attractions. We stayed in the Stone Mountain Inn. The price was very reasonable. The rooms are HUGE! We were in a 2 bed room with refrig and lots of storage and space. We were able to play catch in the room. The room was on 2nd floor and we were able to look out our door and see the carvings on the rock. We paid extra for the popcorn at the laser light show but really liked laying on the grass better than sitting in the reserved seating.

The duck ride costs extra and entering the park costs extra. We purchased the breakfast with the Inn so that meal was paid in advance. The tickets for the park were included with the room at the Inn. The pool in the center of the Inn was a great place to rest and relax for a hour during the hottest part of the day.

We really enjoyed the visit and will be going again when she is a few years older.
Were not able to play the ropes course because she was too short but she really enjoyed the "Barn". It was just right for a 4 year old.

Get up to the ticket line 20 minutes early and it is better than having to wait in line after the park opens.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank EBGwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    974
    322
    113
    76
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stone mountain revisited”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I live in the Atlanta area and have not taken visitors to SMP in over ten years. I was pleasantly surprised how much fun we had with boys aged 16 thru 21 . We arrived at ten in the morning and were busy until 6pm. We did buy a family pass online to save money. It came with unlimited coke product refills. This was very useful since it was extremely hot. It also included lunch that was basic but good and filling. We opted not to wait for the laser show, not sure if it would have been worth the wait.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

So, growing up in Atlanta, I have been more times than I can count. This is honestly a very unique place. They have added so many attractions over the past decade. It is a little pricey, but worth the visit. There is something for all ages and some of my favorite memories are watching the laser show. The view from the top of the mountain is just amazing. Many places seem to decline over time, but Stone Mountain remains great in my opinion.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gagirlinpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice but way over-priced”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The park is very nice but also way over-priced. They do offer discounts online as well as at Kroger - but even counting those it is extremely over-priced.

They charge you a $4 "handling" fee online too....for what? That's just a rip-off; you're not dealing with an operator or anything...they aren't mailing it.....it's online! Stop the $4 handing fee.

The price for the park is really expensive for what it offers. Should be about $15 LESS than it is.

They'll also charge you to park your car.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelingManAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tn
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The kids loved it!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The park was wonderful. If you are looking for the thrill rides and carnival type rides don't go to Stone Mountain. You will not find any of that stuff there. You will find a Sky tram ride, a river boat, peddle boats, a train and putt-putt golf. A 4-D movie that is very fun for the kids and my teenager even loved. 1 day passes can be purchased at a local grocery store at a discount count price. The lazer light show at the end of the day is fantastic!!! Put down a blanket or chairs on the lawn early to reserve your spot. Trolley rides will get you a round to the river boat, sky tram etc or you can walk. Love it, but I'm not into the carnival ride attractions.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Debhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain Park also viewed

 

Been to Stone Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing