We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ in town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vandy's BBQ

Vandy's BBQ
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Statesboro
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Whether it's the mall store or the one downtown, it's the best bbq in town. Burgers are good too. And the brunswick stew is also the best! A bowl of that is like a meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmsmith314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Today's lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Was in the 'Boro for the weekend hanging with family and friends, had to hit Vandy's before heading back to Alpahretta. Typical old school fashion, pull up to the drive up window (that's at least 30yrs old) and hear the wonderful chopping of smoked swine. Mom was with me and we got 3 sandwiches an pint of stew. Sandwich is huge brought 1 and half the stew home for lunch tomorrow. I simply cannot go to Statesboro and not hit Vandy's. Great news they now sale the sauce in the bottle. If your within 30 miles (ok maybe 50) it's worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chicken Fingers!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My daughter and I stopped at Vandy's on our way to Charleston. We both ordered the chicken finger basket with fries. The chicken fingers were outstanding and fresh out of the cooker. We loved the crinkle fries, too. Our service was excellent. We will be back!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gacoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Recently ate here with my family while in the area for school orientation. The restaurant was full of southern ethics and the food was great! We don't have BBQ that often, and this meal was greatly appreciated! Thanks Vandy's!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old time southern BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Grew up in Statesboro and make it back few times a year, it's a must for Vandys downtown Saturday for lunch. BBQ plate, chopped with stew, slaw an Sunbeam white bread. You HAVE to go, it's a religious experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandy's BBQ also viewed

 
Statesboro, GA
 

Been to Vandy's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing