We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like Sunday dinner at grandma's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaver House Restaurant

Beaver House Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 148 Restaurants in Statesboro
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like Sunday dinner at grandma's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

When they say "family style" they mean it! Two meats on a platter and at least 6 kinds of vegetables (if you consider mac and cheese a vegetable) served in bowls, plus a basket of biscuits, and you have the makings of an enjoyable meal. We had fried chicken and roast beef, and both were delicious. There were 3 of us in the group and they brought out just enough food to satisfy all of us. Service was spot on, with the waitress refilling our drinks as soon as our glasses were empty. One note: drinks and desserts cost extra, so what you see advertised for $7.99 is just the food. A variety of coupons are available on their website, so check them out before you go. If you're in the mood for good home cooking in a leisurely setting, this is IT.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not up to my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We went for a family dinner. Everyone was touting Beaver House as a great down home Southern restaurant. Yes, it is that but I was disappointed in the food quality. The fried chicken is very good. The pork good. The mashed potatoes are awful. The white rice okay. The steamed cabbage good. The mac and cheese squares good but cold. The biscuits just okay. The lemon chess pie pretty good. The peach cobbler, too much breading and not enough peaches. If you want lots of food and don't care about the quality, this place may be for you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had my rehearsal dinner at the Beaver House and I think it turned out great. The staff and food were both great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVANNAH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Down Home Southern Style Home Cooked Foods!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Southern Hospitality..Beautiful Olde Southern Charm and a Beauty of an Inn !!!

The Beaver House is a true gem in the heart of Statesboro Georgia!!!

Our party of 6 enjoyed the Boarding House style foods served immediately following our beverage service.."Grandma's" Fried Chicken..Lean Pork slices with gravy..and what seemed like a veritable barrage of fresh hot vegetables..their Squash is out of this world great..mashed potatoes with gravy..rice..whole green beans and sooooo much more!!!

Dessert..did someone mention their desserts ??? The Peach Cobbler topped with cool creamy Vanilla Ice Cream comes highly recommended and when you savor it you will see why!!!

The Beaver House Restaurant and Inn has a wonderful olde World charm with floor to ceiling windows providing dining guests with bright sunlit rooms and views on all sides of the grounds!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHANIE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and homestyle cooking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fried chicken, Southern style vegetables, traditional desserts, all in a turn-of-the-century mansion. We had our English Department senior dinner here last year, and everyone had a fantastic time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beaver House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing