We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Statesboro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Statesboro doesn't have any great hotels, but the Holiday Inn is a perfectly fine place to stay. The front desk staff told me the hotel had been open a few years, but it looked brand new. The outdoor pool/hot tub were pleasant, although the pool towels, which were available at the front desk, were scrawny. I'll never understand why such hotels as Holiday Inn don't see the need for a soap dish in the bathroom. Wet soap needs a bench! A friendly man in charge of the breakfast buffet went to great lengths to find a cereal that my young son wanted that was not on the buffet. It's little things like that, that make a hotel stay special.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondStarHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and nice. Had pool and hot tub. Convenient to Georgia Southern University. Rooms were nice. Staff was friendly. We went to visit Georgia Southern University for next year. The location was great, about 5 minutes away. The hotel is fairly new. The only issue was hearing people slamming their hotel room doors in the morning. The restaurant was small but the food was good. Chilli's Restaurant was next door. Also, many alot of restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Beware of false charges added on if you use a credit card. They charged me an extra $100.00 for a smoking fee, the problem is we dont smoke and they refused to remove the charge. Manager said he found cigarette butts in the trash can. They waited until we had left town to charge us. Now if I was a smoker, smoking in a non smoking room dont you think I would have enough brains not to put the butts in the trash can. The hotel was just about empty, is this there way to stay afloat in this bad economy. The place was noisey and the view was at an empty lot. I will never stay there again, and the bed was like a rock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Randy M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Statesboro South, GA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We love staying at this hotel when we go to Statesboro for Equestrian events. Always clean, friendly staff and convenient to everything. Would be nice if they offered some type of free breakfast like other holiday inns.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaGirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My son and I stayed here in December while attending a function at Georgia Southern University. It was a very pleasant experience. The hotel looks new. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. It is conveniently located to the University and close to restaurants. A little pricey though depending on when you stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer6192770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clean and new. Nice staff. Mediocre breakfast, no variety, not as creative as free breakfast at other hotel chains. Close to newer restaurants and shopping. Restaraunt and bar in hotel. Newer construction, not too soundproof. Seems pricey for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc111atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear jc111atlanta,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is nice to know that you received good service from our staff and you found our property to be modern and clean. I apologize that the breakfast wasn't completely at par with your liking. I have taken note of your feedback and this will be used to consider for improvements needed.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our baseball team stayed at this location. The hotel was very neat and well maintained. They give you a choice between soft and firms pillows. The rooms were always well cleaned and most of the staff were very friendly. The restaurant (emma's) has excellent food and staff.... The only con was that the Hot tub was not working all week....

Room Tip: ice and laundry facilities are located on separate floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magjudge1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VotedBestoftheBoro, General Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate the nice comments. We are very sorry the hot tub was out of service, it was repaired today and will be ready for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Statesboro hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Statesboro
Hampton Inn Statesboro
#1 of 12 in Statesboro
515 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Statesboro
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Statesboro University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Statesboro
Days Inn Statesboro
#2 of 12 in Statesboro
569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Statesboro
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Statesboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area

Address: 455 Commerce Dr, Statesboro, GA 30461-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Statesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Price Range: $108 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Statesboro - University Area Ideally situated near the Statesboro Municipal Airport, Georgia Southern University and Ogeechee Technical College, the Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area Hotel offers comfortable, deluxe accommodations near Statesboro, Georgia's popular attractions and prominent businesses. We're located just off the 301 Bypass(Veterans Memorial Pky). At Holiday Inn Statesboro near Georgia Southern University GSU our guests enjoy shopping at the Statesboro Mall and cooling off at Splash in the Boro Waterpark. Dining and entertainment on Main Street Statesboro and special events at the Averitt Center for the Arts can be found less than three miles away. Business travelers appreciate our Statesboro lodgings near the Gateway Regional Industrial Park, the Airport Industrial Park and corporations such as Coca-Cola and Briggs & Stratton. Over 2,250 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access are provided to accommodate our guests' professional needs. During your visit to our hotel in Statesboro, we invite you to dine with us in our full-service restaurant, Emma's Restaurant & Lounge, Emma's features a weekday breakfast and lunch buffet, Sunday brunch, and mouth-watering dinner menu. In the evening, join us in the lobby for excellent conversation and complimentary hors d'oeuvre. Each of our hotel rooms are equipped with modern amenities including mini-refrigerators, coffee makers, flat screen TVs, and more. For your convenience, an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool and a well-equipped fitness center are available. As you plan your trip, explore our exceptional Statesboro, GA hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Statesboro South Hotel Statesboro
Statesboro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing