We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very well maintained trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Comet Trail

Silver Comet Trail
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very well maintained trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the first time we visit the trail, we rented bikes from the silver comet cycles and enjoyed the morning on our bikes. There were people walking , skating and biking. You could bike leisurely but there were serious bikers passing us by. Everybody respected the rules. will be back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fatatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    56
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Terrific Place to Ride Bikes - First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We'd always heard this was a great place but had never tried it. Friends suggested we rent bikes at Silver Comet Cycles which is right on the trail - can't beat that as you get a first class bike with a helmet for $10/hr. So, off we went. The trail is about a car lane wide with a stripe down the center. We did about 9 miles in just over an hour. The trail is surrounded by trees so the ride is cool. Up hills, down hills, over large bridges, separated from everything by what appeared to be a minimum 50 yard barrier of trees and small brush. Very well marked distances and where the trail crossed roads, there were buttons to press that would stop traffic. We were there on a Monday afternoon and there was a steady flow of mostly bicycles with a few walkers on the trail. I'm told it is built on an old train bed and it goes from Smyrna to the Alabama line. This is the best I've ever seen to ride bikes for long distances.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ProvenExponent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comet Trail Cedartown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We rode from Cedartown, Ga to Rockmart, GA about a 15 mile one way trip and returned. We have ridden in segments all of the Comet Trail from 0 to 61 mile markers and the Chief Ladig Trail which runs from the AL line to Anniston, AL. I mention this for two reasons. This leg was the hardest ride and I would not recommend the section from Grady Road traveling west to mile marker 48. It is tough for the average rider.

Now my second point is that the Comet Trail was not well maintained. There was a lot of underbrush on the trail. We had to remove tree limbs in several places. They were in the process of mowing, but was not removing what went on the trail. It is as though they had lost interest in the upkeep.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Darbydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memohis
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Out of Towner loves the Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went riding on the Silver Comet Trail starting at Floyd Road and going west into Pulaski County. We did 30 miles round trip and it was GREAT. The trail is well maintained, there are nice stopping points with water, benches, shade. Pretty flat, with the climbs usually being over passes.

The folks on the trail are an interesting mix of high achieves (serious bikers training, triathletes) and walkers, strollers. But all are very well schooled in trail etiquette. The times you have to cross a road are few, but when you do, the drivers in the area are very considerate!

Folks in Atlanta are very lucky to have a long, well maintained trail like this to train, and enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“In the age of steam ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

... railroad builders knew how to keep the ups and down very gradual. In those days, that made it easier to tend the fire in the locomotive boilers. In our time, it means that anyone can easily bike or run the Silver Comet Trail.

This is a really well done rail to trail. Nicely paved all the way from Smyrna to the Alabama state line. We are bicyclists and, admittedly, we've never gone farther than Rockmart. But we've ridden every inch of that stretch several times.

We aren't hard-core riders. We like to do an out-and-back from Smyrna, usually to Hiram or thereabouts. Then the next day, we drive to wherever we turned the day before and do another out-and-back toward Alabama.

The sections in Cobb county take you through the suburbs and some light industrial areas. The Sections in Paulding and Polk counties go through some stretches that really feel remote. (They really aren't.) Still, take plenty of water and some other basics with you. It can be a few miles between signs of civilization.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Even_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Comet Trail also viewed

 

Been to Silver Comet Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing