We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Memories to add to Old”
Review of Sassafras Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sassafras Springs
Hobart
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Memories to add to Old”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for out anniversary. Lovely spot with beautiful veg garden. Remembered all the spots from Old Macdonalds farm. Amazing food from Robert. Raspberry cottage could do with some paint and a fly screen on the front door, but a big thumbs up from us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JzdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Travelling Essex man
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Tasmania. We were looking for somewhere quiet and out of the way and Sassafras Springs was perfect. We stayed in Pearl's Cottage and spent most of our time either reading on the veranda or walking in the local area. Bryony and Robert were superb hosts. We especially liked browsing in the organic garden and picking fruit to eat! We wished we could have stayed for much, much longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Raspberry cottage, a charming little low ceilinged cottage. We had a wonderful pot bellied stove which kept us warm at night ( yes I know, middle of summer but it was cold) it also has warm woolen quilts and heaters.
What can I say? Walks, woods, fires, chooks. Chooks! First thing in the morning go to the veggie patch and walk through the gate and you can stroke the chooks before 'stealing' their eggs! Grab some veggies and fruit ( a veritable feast to be had and it's allowed and encouraged) and cook the eggs while still warm.
Bryony, the wonderful manager and her two girls keep out of the way but we welcomed them as our Son loved to play with their Dog and her two cute as buttons little girls - so much so on New Year's Eve they invited our Son to a dance in the village hall ( his first - he's 11 lol) it was perfect.
Relaxing? Yes.
Good for destressing? Yes.
Romantic? Oh yes!

I even did a quick rendition of the sound of music whilst walking in the meadow one afternoon...

This really was a great stay - 2 days turned into 3 and I was so sad to go.
Love to Bryony who really was the most wonderful eco manager ever x

Bonus facts: laundry facilities are free ( great washer and dryer)
The chooks and veggie patch are all organic and taste divine - yours to pick, pull and taste at your will.
All bedding/toweling are organic.
The spa bath is AMAZING with candles whilst watching the light disappear over the meadow ( yep! Candles included)
If I haven't mentioned this yet ... Rustic and romantic and .... Just go book it!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulamurf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the property for a couple of nights. It's so restful. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The location is great, close to the wilderness road to Lake Pedder and Gordon Dam (must see). Not far from Hobart either.
There are a couple of great nature walks without even leaving the property.
Take your own food, there is a small kitchen in the houses, and a common BBQ area. If you don't want to cook, the pub at Ouse (15m away) serves great family style meals.
Highly recommended for a restful couple of days or a romantic getaway.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only one night near end of trip, if had of stayed at beginning of visit to Tassie would have stayed the whole time. Awesome aspect from top of mountain and fresh organic produce from garden available each day. Both our boys loved the property roaming all day. Other highlights was a yurt on the property which is available for many different rejuvenation such as sharing time with friend/family around fire, playing music having massage, would be great healing space for groups or yoga etc. 10 mins away is Russell Falls and the Big Trees and many other adventures around Mt Field NP, raspberry picking farms, and many historic towns.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timandclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Our little cottage was well equipped. We loved all the little details that made the cottage very special including organic bed linen. We highly recommend to take advantage of the hosts cooking for you. We had fantastic scones and a wonderful dinner, all at a very affordable price. Our 9 year old son enjoyed exploring the wild rainforest just behind the cottages.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We love to get into nature and Sassafras Springs is all about nature. It's set in the middle of a 100 acres rainforest - the walks are stunning. There's a bubbling creek running through the property. Accommodation is colourful, comfortable and clean. There's a little pot belly fireplace in the cabins so it's very warm and cosy in winter. Gorgeous cafe onsite and a fabulous vegie garden. It used to be Old McDonald Farm, so there's lots of room for animals to start moving into, for instance, the house of the "Three Little Pigs" and Peter Rabbit's rabbit hutch. Wind in the Willows, Toad of Toad Hall. It's all still there. It's a beautiful place to chill out and get fit and healthy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 693PamelaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellendale
5.8 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.7 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
12.6 mi away
Roslyn House B&B
Roslyn House B&B
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassafras Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassafras Springs

Property: Sassafras Springs
Address: 263 Dillons Rd, Ellendale, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ellendale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ellendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four unique cosy cottages, non-toxic and natural on a peaceful organic farm. 107 acres of mainly temperate rainforest with bubbling creek, walks, BBQ, beautiful views, veggie garden, children's activities. "Eat Laugh Enjoy" casual cafe for guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sassafras Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing