We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brasenose Arms
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$58
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Banbury House Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
$112
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wormleighton Hall(Wormleighton)
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
84
48
18
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
48
18
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage pubproper pubfriendly localspub foodtea and coffee facilitiesnice toiletrieslovely villagechoice of cerealsbanbury areaevening mealcomfortable staysmall villagewell worth a visitfull englishbaguettefresh fruitcomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 162 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Drinking, eating, cycling, live music and hilly walking. We knew what we wanted to do and where to do it .We were not disappointed and The Brasenose was the perfect base for it all, with a good bed and a hot shower. We had excellent weather and each other....Who could ask for more? ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night and then we were joined by my husband and son for the second night. We chose this pub/b&b for it's close location to the Oxford canal as we were visiting family on their narrow boat home. We only used The Brasenose Arms as a base so I cannot comment on the food or pub side of business. The first night as it was just two of us we had a lovely double room on the first floor, in a block away from the pub towards the garden area. The room was clean and tidy with ample towels, toiletries and condiments for making tea/coffee/hot chocolate. My daughter had a shower which she enjoyed but when it was my turn to jump in, there didn't seem to be enough hot water left! :o( The bed itself was very comfortable but the pillows were rock hard memory foam, not to everyone's liking and certainly not ours. The following day we moved to a ground floor family room to accommodate the arrival of my husband and son. This room was large with a double, a single and a put up camp style bed, perfect for our needs,and again with everything we needed. Unfortunately out of the eight pillows supplied there were only two that were of a softer variety the others were again really firm, and I mean hard! The boys were true gents and allowed us girls the softer ones as we had already had the previous nights uncomfortable experience. The following morning both of them complained about sore necks/poor sleep and my son commented about how his previous night at a premier inn was so much better. On checking out the landlord asked us if everything was to our liking and I mentioned the pillows, his answer was that they try to put a mixture in the rooms for different tastes, but that he is 'used' to them. Not really the response I was looking for!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

excellent small pub . food limited choice but cooked to perfection. Highly recommend staying here. we stayed for one night on our way to Portsmouth. not far from motorway so it's easy to get off motorway and not stay in a noisy Days Inn or Travel Lodge right by the motorway. The personal service of manager/owner and his staff was wonderful


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Called in on the off chance on a Saturday night and were helpfully found a table that wasn't wanted until later. Very pleasant place to eat, the menu had more interesting selections, such as Moroccan spiced cod sitting alongside battered fish and chips. Very relaxing and friendly, we were impressed enough to enquire about staying there at another time we were in the area. This is a place you either know or stumble across - if you are in the Banbury area it is well worth seeking out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We've stayed at the Brasenose several times. The food is really excellent and good value and the accommodation is very pleasant and well priced. The rooms are in a separate block and are very peaceful with good sized comfortable, warm rooms.

Depending on which night you stay you'll find live music and a very friendly atmosphere in the bar in the evening. The breakfasts are really good value and I'd recommend this place to stay for anyone wanting to spend some time in Cropredy which itself is a lovely village.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandramoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews