We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Somchai's Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Somchai's Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 10 Restaurants in Daisy Hill
Restaurant details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have been to this restaurant many times over the years and when it was run by Din it was great. New people have taken over and everything has slipped. The food is terrible. Don't waste your time and money going there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was good, not so sure now”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We started going to this restaurant middle of last year and to begin was very impressed with it. Food was so tasty and nice to eat. The last couple of times have not been great. Phoned earlier in the week and booked a table for 4 at 7pm for last Friday night. Unfortunately when we arrived we were told we didn't have a booking, not impressed at all. The time before the food was not as good, told us they didn't have an Eftpos machine ( we usually pay this way) and service was not good at all. Asked to speak to the manager and was told they left.
Hopefully it will get better....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is our favourite thai restaurant. We often get takeaway and find that it is always consistently good quality and fresh. I recently recommended it to a friend and now it's her family's favourite too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TANDIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
“Slow service that took hours”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Got asked recently by one of the family if we wanted to try this Thai eatery. It wasn't hard to find, especially if you live in the area. Nowhere near as big as some of the other Thai eateries in this area. This place was crammed with tables and chairs which didn't allow for too much movement and tended to make it hard to get out of your seat. Once the food was ordered, it took ages for all of it to come out. The starters came out fairly quick however, the mains came out sporadically. In fact, it took nearly 2.5 hours to get all the mains out (we were a table of 9 adults and two children). In fact, we just about to leave when the last meal came out. What we got in the end wasn't all that good although some at table found it okay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEK_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somchai's Cuisine also viewed

Daisy Hill, Logan City
 
Daisy Hill, Logan City
Daisy Hill, Logan City
 

Been to Somchai's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing