We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best.”

Bigland Hall Equine Group
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bigland Hall Equine Group is a horse riding school located in Backbarrow. We offer lessons that are suitable for anyone and all ages. We teach all year round and in a very nice indoor arena, so we can give lessons rain or shine. We do both group and private lessons, and classic dressage lessons for medium to advanced riders. We have a pony club that connects children with ponies for a ride, looking after the horses, or grooming. We also offer trekking lessons and hacking. We do full day, half day, and two hour long hacks in different locations. These rides are held in a variety of different areas.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

So many riding stables are disappearing, but this one does actually cater for all levels of horsemanship and the hacking is just superb.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Biglands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

FANTASTIC. They've completely revolutionised my riding and I've learnt a huge amount from them. Very knowledgable and well worth at least one visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really knowledgable. Quality horses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had a lesson here and was really impressed first by the quality if the horses; not your average riding school plodders and secondly by the knowledge of the instructor. A really good lesson for an adult improver. Would definitely go back. Best riding school experience I have ever had ( and there have been quite a few)!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best mornings ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked onto a half hour lesson and hour horse trek around the beautiful Backbarrow countryside.

Staff were very pleasant and friendly from our welcome to our lesson and our trekking trainer. The horses were beautiful and very well looked after.

Only 20 minutes away from where we were staying in windermere this was an excellent experience. We will definitely be visiting Bigland Hall again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went riding here twice over the summer. On each occasion we went exactly the same route, and trotted in the same place, despite us going on consecutive days.
We were made to feel inadequate in the assessment before we went out, and the staff were quite rude about us wanting to ride wearing muck boots on the second occasion despite not commenting on it on the first day.
The ride was 45 minutes late going out, with no apology, and the lady in charge was shouting at her staff in a way which made us embarrassed to be there.
We will not return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank someone88561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bigland Hall Equine Group also viewed

 
Backbarrow, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Bigland Hall Equine Group? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing