We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”
Review of Cafe Ambio

Cafe Ambio
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found this cafe whilst visiting the motor museum. From the interesting "newspaper" on the trays to the friendly service we'd recommend this place. We only had coffee and cakes but the atmosphere was good, it was bright and warm inside, and the toilets were very clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaperStoneScissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    67
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

While visiting the museum we popped in for lunch. Chargrilled burger, Chargrilled chicken and chicken pate were all delicious. Staff were all very happy, polite and attentive. Seating outside overlooking the river provides super views. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caravanmadwilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch after a visit to the motor museum. The teenagers had cream of veg soup and really enjoyed it. Me and hubbie had sandwiches which were lovely and freshly made

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice comfortable cafe”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've visited a couple of times. The cafe serves some delicious food, it also has nice scenery. You have a choice to either sit at a table or they also have various leather chairs and sofas next to the windows overlooking the river. It also has a good car park which is free and a minute walking distance to the cafe or motor museum. The cafe seems to be a very popular place as it is always full when I have visited which is usually at the beginning of the week.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeDistrictUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Visit to Lakeland Motor Museum”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

You cannot visit the car museum without having lunch at Cafe Ambio - lovely food, well-presented, very tasty, good service, reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ambio also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Ulverston, Cumbria
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
Low Newton, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Cafe Ambio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing