We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cafe that we stumbled across” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Ambio

Cafe Ambio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe that we stumbled across”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were driving over to Seascale to pick up cars after cycling the Coast to Coast and looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. There isn't much choice round there, but we spotted the Ambio sign and through we would give it a try. What a delight! Excellent staff, geat coffee and delicious and reasonably priced food. My egg sandwich, doorstep style, was fantastic. We thought it was so good, that we would make a special trip there in future and visit the museum too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieScarlettLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    62
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor value for money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are local to Cafe Ambio and visited on a week day purely on recommendation, but I have to say we were extremely disappointed. There was nothing wrong with the quality of the food in general but it was fundamental mistakes that let them down. The service is impersonal and poor ordering at a counter and paying first is a terrible way to operate and I am sure tips will be low as a result. I ordered a Cheese Slate which was on the mains menu at £7.95 and therefore expected it to be a reasonable portion. It was literally smaller than an average cheese plate you would have as a final course at dinner. It was truly ridiculous. We also had scones and there was insufficient jam, butter and cream to cover both halves of a scone and the worst thing was that was left out on the counter uncovered and the small quinel of clotted cream had been portioned out earlier in the day and was just about on the turn and had already started developing a new layer of cheese over its entire surface. Clearly the management are making a lot of money and seem to have developed a good reputation for quality food but to be quite honest, there are far better places to eat locally and I would strongly recommend popping into nearby Ulverston to somewhere like Poppies where you can see exactly how a Cafe / Bistro should be run.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak Sandwich + Burgers 11/10!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a great meal here after a trip to the motor museum, got the steak sandwich off the specials board and was really impressed. Other family members tried the various burgers on offer, and were similarly impressed. Good vegetarian choices as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aturi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee at Ambio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Re previous review dated 8th June - I was most surprised and sorry to hear of someone having a bad experience whilst ordering and imbibing coffee.
During my working life I've sampled coffee all over the world (Except India where milky chai was my preference)from the tiny tavernas of Greece to the five star hotels of Europe and the Americas. Now retired and living in Backbarrow my wife and I have sampled coffee in many local establishments and have found one of the most acceptable brews at Cafe Ambio. In almost three years we have never needed to return a coffee due to it being below the usual high standard we have come to rely on, not just for coffee, but food also.
So well done staff, keep it up and always remember - take note of reviewers with a balanced assessment but treat complainers whose very language style reduces their credibility as reviewers, as one offs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eggy917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakedistrict, cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than a cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We live relatively close to cafe Ambio and feel extremely lucky to have somewhere like this close by, This is not just a cafe this is a high quality eating establishment serving all homemade foods using local produce. The cakes, biscuits and scones beat a lot of the local bakery's and are made fresh everyday as proved in an earlier review as they had to wait a short 20 mins until ready, a bonus to me! The bread served with soup and as sandwiches is to die for, we have never had any complaints to date and we do like out eating out and are too quite fussy about where we go having dined at some top restaurants around the world. As far as cafe's go this really has to be one of the best!
A little disappointed about the coffee complaint in an earlier review as we have never had any problems with the milk or the coffee, this must have just been a one off and the staff have always been very knowledgeable about anything used in the cafe. Definitely worth a visit when passing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaybunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ambio also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 

Been to Cafe Ambio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing