We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only visit if interested in cars and do not have small children”

Lakeland Motor Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakeland Motor Museum nestles in the picturesque Leven Valley, at Backbarrow, close to the southern tip of Lake Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District.This thought-provoking attraction provides a perfect 'whatever the weather', all year venue, which entertains and enthrals all ages.Our free educational quiz helps pass on knowledge and understanding.We offer combined ticketing with Windermere Lake Cruises and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway.The museum's adjacent Cafe Ambio has a beautiful riverside setting and our welcoming gift shop is among the best of places to find the perfect present for any occasion.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

visited today as was in the area and husband loves cars . we came with 4 small children eldest 10 . he did enjoy himself but the 3 younger ones got bored very quickly. could do with some activities for the smaller children . we managed to spend an hour here so thought was little expensive £23 family ticket.

1  Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of our attraction. What a shame your smaller children didnt get as much out of the visit as other reviewers families have. For anyone visiting in the future with children, ask us for our free childrens quiz- it helps the children get abit more interactive & stimulated by the eclectic mix of vehicles & historical items. Adults can then ponder the exhibits abit longer & get more out of the visit & hopefully will feel its abit better value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 919 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and myself visited the museum today (10/01/14) and throughly enjoyed ourselves. The wife was reluctant to go but ended up enjoying herself which was surprising and shows what a good museum this is. There are a good selection of vehicles which you can get up close to. Several people have complained about the building being cramped, which it is a little, but this has the bonus of meaning you get to see more cars! People have also complained about the price but when you consider we spent two and a half hours inside it is a bargain. I would certainly recommend visiting and will be visiting next time I am in the lakes.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five star rating of our attraction. We're so pleased you and your wife enjoyed it. Many thanks for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we went to this as we were staying not too far away and it was raining it's all under cover it's big so you can spend a good bit of time there. All the cars are beautiful some from the 18 hundreds some from 19 hundreds and this century there are also many motor bikes and cycles as well. Upstairs there are arcade games from 18 and 19 hundreds you can have a go on there are children's small cars and even prince Charles car with a picture a gift shop restaurant can't remember the price in but it was reasonable. There was a garage in it with all the equipment from the 1910/20's so real well worth seeing there is a film on the history of the place good to see this place

Thank rosed910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely & informative review of our attraction. Your photos are wonderful too! We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

On a rainy day in January, we decided to visit this museum. I mostly suggested it for my husband as he likes cars but it's so much more than that. The cars are laid out in a journey along a route taking you from the 'olden days' to now. It's not just cars though. Along the route are people dressed in the costumes of the day and posters and shop windows and enough reading to keep you interested but not overwhelmed.

In a separate building there is also a room dedicated to full scale enormous models of the cars and boats used by Donald Campbell who broke many speed records and who died on Coniston.

Add to this a lovely cafe and gift shop and you have a great afternoon out. Oh, and if you take I.D. with your postcode and are a local resident you can get in for half price!

Thank ElizabethCarlisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five star rating of our attraction. Reading through past reviews & our responses, you'll know how pleased it makes us when a reviewer is pleasantly surprised by us. We hope this continues! Thank you for remarking about our local residents card- anyone who is permanently resident in a LA/CA postcode area in Cumbria are indeed entitled to 50% discount in the Winter & 20% in the Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

very nice museum bit small but has many nice cars,loads of motorbikes and pedalbikes to see,well worth to see.

Thank Istvan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Motor Museum also viewed

Ravenglass, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing