We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a rainy day”

Lakeland Motor Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakeland Motor Museum nestles in the picturesque Leven Valley, at Backbarrow, close to the southern tip of Lake Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District.This thought-provoking attraction provides a perfect 'whatever the weather', all year venue, which entertains and enthrals all ages.Our free educational quiz helps pass on knowledge and understanding.We offer combined ticketing with Windermere Lake Cruises and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway.The museum's adjacent Cafe Ambio has a beautiful riverside setting and our welcoming gift shop is among the best of places to find the perfect present for any occasion.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here one day as raining and miserable. Good selection of cars and bikes on show. Staff not very interested. Gift shop ok. Nice cafe attached.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VickiW228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, Front Office Manager at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to be rated 5 star however we are concerned regarding your comment relating to our staff not being interested. May we ask that you contact the office direct to more fully explain your observation.
We do try to provide excellent customer service and are always willing to listen in those rare instances when we might have failed to exceed customer expectations..
Best regards and thanks for visiting the Lakeland Motor Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    311
    58
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A great place to go if you like cars. Although there are not lots of them and the visit is not very long, there is plenty to see and all is well kept and maintained. I would recommend doing it but I would try to get a good deal by combining this with the Lake cruises as on its own it to much

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicolasF1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, Front Office Manager at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We offer something for everyone including children.
The museum is a great educational resource and the collection can be used for observation and comparison work. It's a microcosm of twentieth century life: thought provoking, helping to develop knowledge, skills and understanding.It's also great fun for children and our free quiz provides an entertaining challenge to seek and record their findings. Children learn how the past is different to the present and in particular they are able to identify between ways of life at different times.
Children who complete the quiz are rewarded by means of a souvenir medallion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All our yesterdays”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Free bus from Lakeside to the museum, conects with the boat & train, runs every 30mins plus return, takes 10mins, Very good display of all types of motor cars, scooter, motor bikes and tells the history of the TT, showing videos also includes bicycles, plus toys cars of all different makes, tells the story of how the fire brigade started with models of fire engines through the years, there is also the Donald Campbell story in a separate building. Allow at least an hour or more to see it all
Good cafe there aslo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank enrico7848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, Front Office Manager at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We offer a magical mix of stories to entertain all ages. At the Lakeland Motor Museum we have a core motorcycle and motor car collection which we present in a social context.
The experience is really that of a microcosm of the twentieth century. As you have described ourselves: "All our yesterdays."
We have displays relating to a variety of interesting topics with many rooted in the local area - for example, The Leven Valley Heritage Centre explains how life used to be working in the blue mill, gunpowder factories, iron works and woodland industries. We also have a tribute to the Womens Land Army and to the racing Campbells who captured 21 world land and water speed records, in the Bluebird series of boats and cars.
There are recreations of shop windows including a period Post Office, a Co-op and many more each with authentic contents, and much more. For children we have a free quiz and reward those that participate (in finding exhibits and recording their findings) with a souvenir medallion.
For those who like to shop we have a well stocked gift shop, offering books on a variety of subjects, dvds, die-cast scale replicas, fashion jewellery and watches. It's a welcoming place and among the best to find the perfect gift for any occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Petrol Head Heaven in the Lakes”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although most people do come to the lakes for the out door activities sometimes the weather just beats you! We visited the museum on a rainy day and thoroughly enjoyed it - we are big lovers of historic cars - we are members of Brooklands Museum in Weybridge. Although the Lakeland Museum doesn't have the same space or the history of Brooklands it is still excellent -yes the exhibits are quite packed in but if they weren't that mean there would be less on display.
I think the entry fee was very reasonable - we did a joint ticket with the Haverthwaite Steam Railway which includes the bus from the museum to Lakeside, parking is free at the museum so all in it cost us £26.60 for two adults. I also found the staff to be very good - the lady we purchased tickets from was very knowledgeable about the various options.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, Front Office Manager at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the museum.
Our combined ticketing arrangements with The Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway provide excellent value for money. For a full day we recommend also including a scenic cruise on Lake Windermere. There is free car parking at the museum and a dedicated bus service to and from Lakeside connecting with the train and boat services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

£7.95 with no concession, a bit pricey. Expected to spend the day here but found a good look round only took 3 hours at the most. Gooid if you are really into cars and bikes. Thought ther would have had been more caravans and campers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank honeybee047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, Front Office Manager at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for visiting.
Most of our visitors spend at lease half a day, enjoying the Lakeland Motor Museum experience and in terms of cost tell us that our admission represents excellent value.
For a full day experience we offer combined ticketing with Windermere Lake Cruises and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway. You can start at any of the participating attractions, although at the Lakeland Motor Museum we offer free car parking. A bus service which is included in the ticket price provides a shuttle service to Lakeside connecting with the boat and train services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Motor Museum also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Ravenglass, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing