We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$132
$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Lodge(Saint Simons Island)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center(Jekyll Island)(Great Value!)
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveler rating
757
121
43
26
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
121
43
26
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian roombeach clubmain buildingsouthern tideadult poolfive star resortriver barshooting schoolfitness centerfour seasonssouthern charmhorseback ridingcolt alisonold worldone bedroom suitebeautiful resortsister property
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 972 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Beach Club Suites from 8/26-9/2 in a one bedroom suite. The room(s) were spacious and well kept with two very nice bathrooms. The location, attached to the Beach Club, is perfect for families with small children as it allowed us to get right to the pool and then right back to the room for nap time.

The pool at the Beach Club was designed with small children in mind as my son (soon to be two) loved being able to walk into the pool without having to go off a ledge and he absolutely loved the splash pad.

The staff at the Beach Club was top notch and always ready to take a drink/food order and bring it to your chair. Everyone we interacted with from Sea Island was friendly and courteous.

We ate at Southern Tide, Tavolo, Snack Shack, The Lodge and the Candy Shop. All were good in their own ways with the crab crostini at Tavolo standing out as probably the best thing I ate all week (Crabsino at the Lodge a close second)!

Hopefully we will be back soon as I miss it already. A nearly perfect family vacation.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Bclarke25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We celebrated our Birthday's at the Cloister. As usual the service was outstanding and they could not have been nicer. For the first time in many years we stayed in the main building in a very spacious room (we usually stay at the Beach Club). The room was exceptional! Each morning there are news papers, coffee and pastries in the solarium as well as cookies and tea each afternoon. We visited with Bruce the front doorman who seems like he is part of our family as well as several other tenured employees. I highly recommend the hotel for any special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
168
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

This resort is absolutely fabulous. The staff are all so pleasant and truly happy to help you with anything. There is so much to do here it's really up to guests how much or how little they wish to do. I was in the area for business and have throughly enjoyed myself. The fitness classes, the spa, and the food are excellent. Every detail has been thought of, and it is super clean. I can't wait to come back again. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

This is still a special place, but it's not the genteel, stately resort that it was for generations; instead, it's a much busier, boisterous resort that is lighter on the Southern charm and heavier on more generic modern amenities that many upscale travelers expect. The staff is incredibly friendly, the accommodations are well-appointed, and the outdoor activities are family-friendly. Bring your wallet, or maybe a second mortgage, as everything is a la carte.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VandelayNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Thank you very much for visiting and for posting your comments. Although the last days of summer can be very busy with families, I am concerned that you felt a shift in our daily goal of providing authentic Southern hospitality. I apologize if that was the case and trust that when you return, you will find the same charm you have experienced in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

The Cloister is a classic hotel. It was entirely rebuilt about 12 yrs ago, but parts look like it has been there a long time. We stayed in a Beach Club king room and it was lovely but with no view. We enjoyed the adult pool, thank goodness, because the large main pools are overrun with children so know that this is very much a family resort. We had included breakfast and the buffet with cooked to order eggs leaves nothing to be desired. It has everything you can think of and more! We ate dinner at 3 of their restaurants and they were all very good. We were celebrating an anniversary and they had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in room And each night we were given complimentary glasses of champagne when we sat down to dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LA1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

How wonderful it is to know that you enjoyed your anniversary stay so much. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and wish you many more happy anniversaries in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews